Skip to Main Content
about the statehousevirtual tourfor educatorsfuture plansother resources
the maryland state house - home

House of Delegates Chamber

John Hancon Briscoe (1934-2014)

Artist: Peter Egeli, 1977
Medium: Oil on canvas
MSA SC 1545-0904

John Hancon BriscoeHouse of Delegates, St. Mary's County, 1962-79; House Speaker, 1973-79; County Administrative Judge, St. Mary's County Circuit Court, 7th Judicial Circuit, 1986-2002.








House of Delegates Chamber Portraits & Mace

R. Taylor
R.Clayton Mitchell
Benjamin L. Cardin
John Hanson Briscoe
Thomas H. Lowe
Perry O. Wilkinson
Marvin Mandel
A. Gordon Boone
John Christopher Luber
C. Ferdinand Sybert
Michael E. Bush
House Mace

Related Links

Archives of Maryland Historical List: Speakers of the House of Delegates from 1650 - present