Skip to Main Content
visitor informationabout the state housevirtual tourfor educatorsfuture plansother resources
the maryland state house - home

The Senate Chamber

Thomas Stone (1743-1787)

Artist: John Beale Bordley, 1836
Medium: Oil on canvas
MSA SC 1545-1116

New Senate ChamberDelegate, Continental Congress, 1774, 1775-76, 1777-78, 1783-84; Signer, Declaration of Independence, 1776; Maryland Senate, Western Shore, 1777-1780 (resigned), 1781-87 (died) 
Maryland House of Delegates, Charles County, 1780 (resigned) 








Portraits and statues in the Senate Chamber

William Paca
Thomas Stone
Charles of Carrollton
Samuel Chase
Edwin Warfield
Mike Miller