Skip to Main Content
visitor informationvirtual tourfor educatorsfuture plansother resources
the maryland state house - home

The Senate Chamber

Charles Carroll of Carrollton (1737-1832)

Artist: Thomas Sully, 1834
Medium: Oil on canvas
MSA SC 1545-1114

Charles Carroll of CarrolltonMember, 1774-1776 Constitutional Conventions, Anne Arundel County; Senate, Western Shore, 1777-1800; Senate President, 1782-1783; Delegate, Continental Congress, 1776, 1777-1778, 1780; Signer, Declaration of Independence, 1776; U.S. Senator, 1st, 2nd Congresses, 1789-1792








Portraits and statues in the Senate Chamber

William Paca
Thomas Stone
Charles of Carrollton
Samuel Chase
Edwin Warfield
Mike Miller