Skip to Main Content
visitor informationabout the state housevirtual tourfor educatorsfuture plansother resources
the maryland state house - home

Senate Committee Room

James McHenry(1753-1816)

Artist: De Nyse W. Turner, (1917-2010) after James Sharples (c.1751-1811) , 1975
Medium: Pastel on panel
MSA SC 1545-1029

James McHenry

Senate, Western Shore, 1781-1786, 1791-1795; Delegate, Continental Congress, 1783-1785; House of Delegates, Baltimore Town, 1788-1789; United States Secretary of War, 1796-1800




















Portraits AND Exhibits in the Senate Committee Room

Joshua Barney
Jeremiah T. Chase
Sir Robert Eden
Mordecai Gist
Anne Catherine Hoof Green
John Hanson
William Paca
George Plater
Charles Willson Peale
John Eager Howard
Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer
James McHenry.
James McHenry
William Smallwood
Samuel Smith
John H. Stone
Otho H. Williams
Washington, Lafayette and Tilghman at Yorktown
tilghmans swords
General George Washington resigning his military commission before Congress,     
          December 23, 1783