[photo, Brooke E. Lierman, Maryland Comptroller] BROOKE ELIZABETH LIERMAN, Esq., Comptroller (Democrat)

Comptroller of Maryland since January 16, 2023.

Member, Board of Public Works, 2023-. Vice-Chair, Board of Trustees, State Retirement and Pension System, 2023- (corporate governance & securities litigation committee, 2023-; investment committee, 2023-). Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation, 2023-; Maryland Commission on Public Art, 2023-; Board of State Canvassers, 2023-; Capital Debt Affordability Committee, 2023-; Commission on State Debt, 2023-; Maryland Economic Development Assistance Authority, 2023-; Financial Education and Capability Commission, 2023-; Maryland 529 Board, 2023-; Maryland Food Center Authority, 2023-; Hall of Records Commission, 2023-; Maryland Industrial Development Financing Authority, 2023-; Board of Revenue Estimates, 2023-; Maryland State Employees Surety Bond Committee, 2023-. Chair, Comptroller's Work Group on Pandemic Spending, 2023. Member, Joint Enforcement Task Force on Workplace Fraud, 2024-.

Member of House of Delegates, representing District 46, Baltimore City, January 14, 2015 to January 11, 2023. Member, Environment and Transportation Committee, 2019-23 (chair, land use & ethics subcommittee, 2019-23; member, environment subcommittee, 2020; motor vehicle & transportation subcommittee, 2021-23); Joint Committee on the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Area, 2015-23; Joint Committee on Ending Homelessness, 2015-23; Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review, 2019-23; Study Group on Economic Stability, 2019-23. House Chair, Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 2021 (member, 2015-23). Member, Appropriations Committee, 2015-19 (vice-chair, transportation & the environment subcommittee, 2019, member, 2015-19; vice-chair, oversight committee on pensions, 2019, member, 2015-19; member, capital budget subcommittee, 2019). Member, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2015-23; Maryland Legislative Latino Caucus, 2015-23. Co-Chair, Maryland Legislative Transit Caucus, 2019-23.

Member, Complete Streets Program Regulations Work Group, 2018-20; Objective Criteria Committee, State Retirement and Pension System, 2018-23; Maryland Violence Intervention and Prevention Advisory Council, 2018-23.

Born in Washington, DC, February 14, 1979. Attended Walt Whitman High School, Bethesda, Maryland; Dartmouth College, A.B. (history), 2001. Regional Field Director, Rochester, Minnesota, Wellstone for Senate, 2002. Development Director (AmeriCorps VISTA), Dream Program, Inc., Burlington, Vermont, 2002-03. Wisconsin State Field Director, Dean for America, 2003-04. Special Assistant for National Security, Center for American Progress, 2004-05. University of Texas School of Law, J.D., cum laude, 2008 (president, american constitution society). Admitted to Maryland Bar, 2008; Massachusetts Bar, 2008; U.S. District Court for District of Maryland, 2010; U.S. Court of Appeals for Fourth Circuit, 2010. Attorney. Law clerk to Chief Judge Benson E. Legg and Chief Judge Deborah K. Chasanow, U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland, 2009-10. Associate in Government Relations, Foley Hoag LLP, Boston, Massachusetts, 2008-09. Associate, Brown, Goldstein & Levy LLP, 2010-. Member, Baltimore Carroll Chapter, Women's Bar Association of Maryland; National Employment Lawyers Association; Maryland-Washington Employment Lawyers Association. Executive Board, Fells Point Residents Association, 2011-14. Board of Directors, Citizens Housing and Planning Association, Baltimore, 2012-14; Downtown Baltimore Family Alliance, 2013-. Board of Trustees, Baltimore Museum of Art, 2017-. Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 2016. "40 under 40" Award, Baltimore Magazine, 2013. Rising Star, Super Lawyers Magazine, 2013, 2014. Leading Women Award, Daily Record, 2014. Aspen-Rodel Fellowship in Public Leadership, 2017. Legislator of the Year, Maryland Hunger Solutions, 2017. Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 2019, 2022. Legislator of the Year, Maryland League of Conservation Voters, 2019. Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame, 2024. Married; two children.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright March 25, 2024 Maryland State Archives