COMPTROLLER OF MARYLAND


[photo, Goldstein Treasury Building, Annapolis, Maryland] Brooke E. Lierman, Esq., Comptroller of Maryland
Andrew M. Schaufele, Chief Deputy Comptroller
Rianna Matthews-Brown, Chief of Staff
Renee Nacrelli, Principal Counsel

Goldstein Treasury Building, Annapolis, Maryland, July 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


[photo, 301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland]

301 West Preston St., Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-4890; fax: (410) 333-5383; tty: (410) 767-1967

301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland, October 2019. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


Agencies

Budget

Historical Evolution

Organizational Chart

Organizational Structure

Origin & Functions

Reports



ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

COMPTROLLER OF MARYLAND

(E00A0101, formerly 24.01.01)
FY2024 appropriation: $15,322,410; authorized positions:
Brooke E. Lierman, Esq., Comptroller of Maryland (elected by voters to 4-year term), 2026
(410) 260-7801
e-mail: brooke@marylandtaxes.gov
web: www.marylandtaxes.gov/divisions/comp.php

CHIEF OF STAFF

Rianna Matthews-Brown, Chief of Staff (410) 260-6266; e-mail: rmatthewsbrown@marylandtaxes.gov
Emily Hollis Gontrum, Deputy Chief of Staff (410) 260-7561; e-mail: egontrum@marylandtaxes.gov

ADMINISTRATION & FINANCE DIVISION

(E00A0102, formerly 24.01.01.02)
FY2024 appropriation: $4,211,226; authorized positions:
Wayne P. Green, Director (410) 260-7445
e-mail: wgreen@marylandtaxes.gov
web: www.marylandtaxes.gov/divisions/af.php


OFFICE OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Robert W. O'Connor, Chief Information Officer (410) 260-7634
e-mail: roconnor@marylandtaxes.gov

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY DIVISION

(E00A1001, formerly 24.01.10)
FY2024 appropriation: $30,969,306; authorized positions: 133
John Hiter, Director (410) 260-7634; e-mail: jhiter@marylandtaxes.gov
Carol S. Lavix, Deputy Director, ADC, Tax Applications & Division Administration (410) 260-6172; e-mail: clavix@marylandtaxes.gov
Kyle Doyle, Deputy Director, Customer Engagement (410) 260-7531; e-mail: kdoyle@marylandtaxes.gov
William O'Leary, Deputy Director, Enterprise Applications & IT Infrastructure (410) 260-6252; e-mail: woleary@marylandtaxes.gov
web: www.marylandtaxes.gov/divisions/itd.php


OFFICE OF LAW & OVERSIGHT

Rachel E. Sessa,Deputy Comptroller for Law & Oversight (410) 260-7486; e- mail:rsessa@marylandtaxes.gov

CENTRAL PAYROLL BUREAU

(E00A0901, formerly 24.01.09)
FY2024 appropriation: $4,543,792; authorized positions: 44.2
Dhiren V. Shah, Director (410) 260-7406
e-mail: cpb@marylandtaxes.gov
e-mail: dshah@marylandtaxes.gov
web: www.marylandtaxes.gov/divisions/cpb.php

FIELD ENFORCEMENT BUREAU

(E00A06)
FY2024 appropriation: $6,811,475; authorized positions: 42
Chuck Ulm, Director (410) 260-7278; e-mail: culm@marylandtaxes.gov
C. (Van) Howeth, Deputy Director (410) 260-7469; e-mail: choweth@marylandtaxes.gov
Patrick Dunkes, Deputy Director (410) 260-6247; e-mail: pdunkes@marylandtaxes.gov
Bill Collier, Agent-In-Charge (410) 260-7490; e-mail: wcollier@marylandtaxes.gov
Kevin Burley, Inspector Supervisor (667) 401-6133; e-mail: kburley@marylandtaxes.gov
Ketan Vithlani, Laboratory Manager (410) 799-7777; e-mail: kvithlani@marylandtaxes.gov
LaKeisha Sorrell, Chief License Inspector (410) 260-7382; e-mail: lsorrell@marylandtaxes.gov


OFFICE OF POLICY, PUBLIC WORKS & INVESTMENT

Ben J. Seigel,Deputy Comptroller for Policy, Public Works & Investment(667) 408-0781; e-mail: bseigel@marylandtaxes.gov


OFFICE OF PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT & COMMUNICATIONS

Valorie L. Sanders,Ph.D., Deputy Comptroller for Public Engagement & Communications(410) 260-7019; e-mail: vsanders@marylandtaxes.gov


OFFICE OF REVENUE OPERATIONS & ACCOUNTING

Andrew M. Schaufele, Chief Deputy Comptroller (410) 260-7310
e-mail: aschaufele@marylandtaxes.gov

BOARD OF REVENUE ESTIMATES

Ex officio: Brooke E. Lierman, Esq., Comptroller of Maryland; Dereck E. Davis, State Treasurer; Helene T. Grady, Secretary of Budget & Management.

Executive Secretary: Robert J. Rehrmann, Director, Bureau of Revenue Estimates (410) 260-7450
e-mail: bre@marylandtaxes.gov

COMPLIANCE DIVISION

(E00A0501, formerly 24.01.05)
FY2024 appropriation: $42,646,220; authorized positions: 357
Edward F. Wykowski III, Director (410) 767-1557
e-mail: compliance@marylandtaxes.gov
e-mail: ewykowski@marylandtaxes.gov
web: www.marylandtaxes.gov/divisions/cd.php

FRAUD DETECTION & BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE DIVISION

Brandy Richmond, Director (410) 260-4054
e-mail: brichmond@marylandtaxes.gov

GENERAL ACCOUNTING DIVISION

(E00A0201, formerly 24.01.02)
FY2024 appropriation: $7,014,525; authorized positions: 45.8
Sandra L. Zinck, Director (410) 260-7820
e-mail: gad@marylandtaxes.gov
e-mail: szinck@marylandtaxes.gov
web: www.marylandtaxes.gov/divisions/gad.php

REVENUE ADMINISTRATION DIVISION

(E00A0401, formerly 24.01.04)
FY2024 appropriation: $54,455,968; authorized positions: 403.1
Robert R. Scheerer, Director (410) 767-1565; e-mail: rscheerer@marylandtaxes.gov
Gina Wiklund, Deputy Director (410) 767-1526; e-mail: gwiklund@marylandtaxes.gov
web: www.marylandtaxes.gov/divisions/rad.php

DEPUTY DIRECTOR
Andrea Brown, Deputy Director (410) 260-7592; e-mail:
abrown@marylandtaxes.gov
Michael Stanton, Assistant Director (410) 260-0475; e-mail: mstanton@marylandtaxes.gov

TAXPAYER SERVICES DIVISION

Gary E. White, Director (410) 260-7455; e-mail: gwhite@marylandtaxes.gov
Patricia Guiles, Deputy Director (410) 260-6254; e-mail: pguiles@marylandtaxes.gov
Dennis F. Gwinn, Assistant to Director (410) 260-7724; e-mail: dgwinn@marylandtaxes.gov
Ana Garay, Assistant Director Branch Operations (410) 260-7621; e-mail: agaray@marylandtaxes.gov
Trinidad Paiz, Assistant Director Taxpayer Contact Centers, (667) 262-0496; e-mail: tpaiz@marylandtaxes.gov


[photo, Anne Arundel County Branch Operations, 60 West St., Annapolis, Maryland]


60 West St., Annapolis, Maryland, May 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


[photo, 301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland] BALTIMORE CITY
Lai Li Eppel, Branch Manager (410) 767-1306; fax: (410) 974-3248; e-mail: lli@marylandtaxes.gov
State Office Building, Room 206
301 West Preston St., Baltimore, MD 21201 - 2384


301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland, March 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


[photo, Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland]


Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland, May 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.



[photo, Courthouse, 100 West Patrick St., Frederick, Maryland] CHARLES COUNTY
Ramona P. Bowen, Branch Manager (301) 645-7818; fax: (301) 974-3248; e-mail: rbowen@marylandtaxes.gov
1036 St. Nicholas Drive, Suite 202, Waldorf, MD 20603 - 7025

FREDERICK COUNTY
Victoria Chaney, Acting Branch Manager (301) 600-1982; fax: (301) 974-3248; e-mail: vchaney@marylandtaxes.gov
Courthouse, Room 2603
100 West Patrick St., Frederick, MD 21701 - 5646

Courthouse, 100 West Patrick St., Frederick, Maryland, August 2006. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance


Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov


This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 30, 2023 Maryland State Archives