DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT


[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] Ben H. Grumbles, Secretary of the Environment (410) 537-3084
Horacio A. Tablada, Deputy Secretary (410) 537-3893
Suzanne E. Dorsey, Ph.D., Assistant Secretary (410) 537-3471
Denise M. Keehner, Assistant Secretary (410) 537-3638
George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr., Director, Air & Radiation Administration (410) 537-3255
Kaley V. Laleker, Director, Land & Materials Administration (410) 537-3304
Thomas J. French, Director, Operational Services Administration (410) 537-3116
D. Lee Currey, Director, Water & Science Administration (410) 537-3567
Andrea Saum Baker, Principal Counsel (410) 537-3049

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.



Agencies

Budget

Functions

Historical Evolution

Organizational Chart

Organizational Structure

Origin

Reports


ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

OFFICE OF SECRETARY

(U00A0101, formerly 39.01.01.01)
FY2020 appropriation: $2,214,536; authorized positions: 13
Ben H. Grumbles, Secretary of the Environment (appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent) (410) 537-3084
e-mail: ben.grumbles@maryland.gov

Horacio A. Tablada, Deputy Secretary (410) 537-3893; e-mail: horacio.tablada@maryland.gov
Suzanne E. Dorsey, Ph.D., Assistant Secretary (410) 537-3471; e-mail: suzanne.dorsey1@maryland.gov
Denise M. Keehner, Assistant Secretary (410) 537-3638; e-mail: denise.keehner@maryland.gov

AIR & RADIATION ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0701, formerly 39.01.07)
FY2020 appropriation: $17,574,589; authorized positions: 166
George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr., Director (410) 537-3255; e-mail: george.aburn@maryland.gov
Angelo J. Bianca, Deputy Director (410) 537-3260; e-mail: angelo.bianca@maryland.gov
web: http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/air/pages/index.aspx

LAND & MATERIALS ADMINISTRATION

(U00A06, formerly 39.01.06)
FY2020 appropriation: $32,599,609; authorized positions: 238.5
Kaley V. Laleker, Director (410) 537-3304; e-mail: kaley.laleker@maryland.gov
Stephanie Cobb-Williams, Deputy Director (410) 537-3431; stephanie.cobb-williams@maryland.gov
web: http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/land/Pages/index.aspx


[photo, Oil tank, Locust Point, Baltimore, Maryland]

Oil tank, Locust Point, Baltimore, Maryland, June 2019. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


OPERATIONAL SERVICES ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0202, formerly 39.01.02.02)
FY2020 appropriation: $9,397,370; authorized positions: 45
Thomas J. French, Director (410) 537-3116; fax: (410) 537-3740; e-mail: tom.french@maryland.gov
June B. Dwyer, Deputy Director (410) 537-4014; e-mail: june.dwyer1@maryland.gov

WATER & SCIENCE ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0401, formerly 39.01.04)
FY2020 appropriation: $40,269,316 authorized positions: 331.5
D. Lee Currey, Director (410) 537-3567; fax: (410) 537-3874; e-mail: lee.currey@maryland.gov
Heather W. Barthel, Deputy Director (410) 537-3145; e-mail: heather.barthel@maryland.gov
web: http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/water/Pages/index.aspx

Matthew C. Rowe, Assistant Director (410) 537-3578; e-mail: matthew.rowe@maryland.gov
Vacancy, Assistant Director (410) 537-3145

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance


Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us


This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 09, 2020 Maryland State Archives