DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT

Ben H. Grumbles, Secretary of the Environment (410) 537-3084
Horacio A. Tablada, Deputy Secretary (410) 537-3893


[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] Lynn Y. Buhl, Assistant Secretary (410) 537-3471
George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr., Director, Air & Radiation Administration (410) 537-3255
Kaley V. Laleker, Acting Director, Land & Materials Administration (410) 537-3304
Thomas J. French, Director, Operational Services Administration (410) 537-3116
D. Lee Currey, Director, Water & Science Administration (410) 537-3572
Andrea Saum Baker, Principal Counsel (410) 537-3049

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.



Agencies

Budget

Functions

Historical Evolution

Organizational Chart

Organizational Structure

Origin

Reports


ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

OFFICE OF SECRETARY

(U00A0101, formerly 39.01.01.01)
FY2019 appropriation: $2,239,928; authorized positions: 13
Ben H. Grumbles, Secretary of the Environment (appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent) (410) 537-3084
e-mail: ben.grumbles@maryland.gov

Horacio A. Tablada, Deputy Secretary (410) 537-3893
e-mail: horacio.tablada@maryland.gov

Lynn Y. Buhl, Assistant Secretary (410) 537-3471
e-mail: lynn.buhl@maryland.gov

AIR & RADIATION ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0701, formerly 39.01.07)
FY2019 appropriation: $16,890,023; authorized positions: 167
George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr., Director (410) 537-3255
e-mail: george.aburn@maryland.gov
web: http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/air/pages/index.aspx

Angelo J. Bianca, Deputy Director (410) 537-3260
e-mail: angelo.bianca@maryland.gov

LAND & MATERIALS ADMINISTRATION

(U00A06, formerly 39.01.06)
FY2019 appropriation: $31,680,251; authorized positions: 238
Kaley V. Laleker, Acting Director (410) 537-3304
e-mail: kaley.laleker@maryland.gov
web: http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/land/Pages/index.aspx

Kaley V. Laleker, Deputy Director (410) 537-3304
e-mail: kaley.laleker@maryland.gov

OPERATIONAL SERVICES ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0202, formerly 39.01.02.02)
FY2019 appropriation: $9,177,283; authorized positions: 45
Thomas J. French, Director (410) 537-3116; fax: (410) 537-3740
e-mail: tom.french@maryland.gov

Vacancy, Deputy Director (410) 537-3116

WATER & SCIENCE ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0401, formerly 39.01.04)
FY2019 appropriation: $41,678,611; authorized positions: 331
D. Lee Currey, Director (410) 537-3572; fax: (410) 537-3998
e-mail: lee.currey@maryland.gov
web: http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/water/Pages/index.aspx

Virginia F. Kearney, Deputy Director (410) 537-3512; e-mail: virginia.kearney@maryland.gov
Matthew C. Rowe, Deputy Director (410) 537-3572; e-mail: matthew.rowe@maryland.gov
Heather W. Barthel, Assistant Director (410) 537-3145; e-mail: heather.barthel@maryland.gov
Marya Levelev, Chesapeake Bay Coordinator (410) 537-4029; e-mail: marya.levelev@maryland.gov

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance


Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us


This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright October 29, 2018 Maryland State Archives