1838 John C. Groome
1838 John H. Culbreth
1838-1839 Joseph H. Nicholson
1839-1840 Cornelius McLean
1840-1841 James Murray
1841-1842 Thomas Wright III
1842 Henry Hobbs, Acting Secretary of State (Jan. 4-Feb. 1)
1842-1844 John Carroll LeGrand (D)
1844 John Nicholas Watkins, Ad Interim Secretary of State (March 2-8)
1844-1845 William Van Buskirk
1845-1848 William T. Wootton
1848-1849 Richard C. Hollyday (D)
1849-1851 John Nicholas Watkins
1851-1853 Thomas H. O'Neal
1853-1854 John Randolph Quinn
1854-1857 Nathaniel Cox
1857-1858 Jonathan Pinkney
1858-1861 James R. Partridge (R)
1861 Grayson Eichelberger
1861-1862 Thomas J. Wilson
1862-1866 William B. Hill
1866-1869 John M. Carter
1869-1872 Richard C. Hollyday
1872-1873 John Thomson Mason (D)
1873-1880 Richard C. Hollyday (D)
1880-1884 James T. Briscoe
1884 Richard C. Hollyday (D)
1884-1886 George B. Milligan
1886-1893 Edward W. LeCompte (D)
1893-1894 William T. Brantly
1894-1896 Edwin Gott
1896-1899 Richard Dallam (R)
1899-1900 George E. Loweree
1900-1904 Wilfred Bateman (D)
1904-1908 Oswald Tilghman (D)
1908-1912 N. Winslow Williams
1912-1916 Robert P. Graham (R)
1916-1919 Thomas W. Simmons (D)
1919-1920 George L. Radcliffe (D)
1920-1923 Philip B. Perlman (D)
1923-1925 E. Brooke Lee (D)
1925-1935 David C. Winebrenner III (D)
1935-1936 Thomas L. Dawson (R)
1936-1939 E. Ray Jones (R)
1939 John B. Gontrum
1939-1941 Francis Petrott
1941 Miles T. Tull (D)
1941-1946 Thomas Elmo Jones (D)
1946 William J. McWilliams, Assistant to Secretary of State (Feb. 7-8)
1946-1947 Edward G. Chaney
1947 John B. Funk (D)
1947-1949 Bertram Lee Boone II (D)
1949-1951 Vivian V. Simpson
1951-1955 John R. Reeves (R)
1955-1957 Blanchard Randall (R)
1957-1959 Claude B. Hellmann (D)
1959-1961 Thomas B. Finan (D)
1961-1967 Lloyd Lewis Simpkins (D)
1967-1969 C. Stanley Blair (D)
1969-1971 Blair Lee III (D)
1971-1982 Fred L. Wineland (D)
1982-1983 Patricia G. Holtz (D)
1983-1987 Lorraine M. Sheehan (D)
1987-1993 Winfield M. Kelly, Jr. (D)
1993-1995 Tyras S. Athey (D)
1995-2003 John T. Willis (D)
2003-2005 R. Karl Aumann (R)
2005-2007 Mary D. Kane (R)
2007-2008 Dennis C. Schnepfe, Interim Secretary of State (Jan. 17, 2007-July 16, 2008)
2008-2015 John P. McDonough (D)
2015-2023 John C. Wobensmith (R)
2023- Susan C. Lee (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 05, 2023 Maryland State Archives