[photo, Susan C. Lee, Maryland Secretary of State] SUSAN C. LEE, Secretary of State

Office of Secretary of State
Fred L. Wineland Building, 16 Francis St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-3894; 1-888-874-0013 (toll free)
fax: (410) 974-5190; tty: (410) 333-3098

Secretary of State since February 13, 2023. Acting Secretary of State, January 18 to February 13, 2023.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2023-. Chair, Governor's Subcabinet for International Affairs, 2023-. Member, Board of State Canvassers, 2023-. Member, Maryland Semiquincentennial Commission, 2023; Maryland 250 Commission, 2023-.

Member of Senate (Democrat), representing District 16, Montgomery County, January 14, 2015 to January 18, 2023. Majority Whip, 2019-22. Deputy Majority Whip, 2017-18. Member, Judicial Proceedings Committee, 2015-22; Joint Committee on Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Biotechnology, 2015-22; Executive Nominations Committee, 2019-22; Legislative Policy Committee, 2020-22. Vice-Chair, Montgomery County Delegation, 2019-22. Chair Emeritas, Maryland Legislative Asian-American and Pacific-Islander Caucus, 2019-22 (chair, 2015-19). Member, Maryland Legislative Latino Caucus, 2015-22; Maryland Legislative Transit Caucus, 2019-22.

Member, Work Group to Study Safe Harbor Policy for Youth Victims of Human Trafficking, 2015-19; Maryland Cybersecurity Council, 2015-23; Task Force to Study Recording Deeds for Victims of Domestic Violence, 2016-17; Governor's Family Violence Council, 2016-23; Task Force to Study Bicycle Safety on Maryland Highways, 2017-18; State Advisory Council on Administrative Hearings, 2017-23; Work Group to Study Child Custody Proceedings Involving Child Abuse or Domestic Violence Allegations, 2019-20; State Advisory Board for Juvenile Services, 2019-20; Student Data Privacy Council, 2019-21; Council on Open Data, 2021-23.

Member, Steering Committee, Governor-elect's Transition Team, 2022.

Member of House of Delegates (Democrat), representing District 16, Montgomery County, February 21, 2002 to January 14, 2015. Member, Judiciary Committee, 2002-15 (member, gaming law & enforcement subcommittee, 2002-03; civil law & procedure subcommittee, 2003-06; chair, juvenile law subcommittee, 2007-11; chair, family law subcommittee, 2011-15). Deputy Majority Whip, 2003-15. Member, Joint Committee on Access to Mental Health Services, 2011-14. Vice-Chair, Montgomery County Delegation, 2007-15 (chair, county affairs committee, 2003-07, member, 2007-10; member, land use & transportation committee, 2011-15). Member, Maryland Green Caucus, 2002-; Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Caucus, 2003-; Maryland Bioscience Caucus, 2008-. Chair, Maryland Asian-American Caucus, 2015-. President, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2011-12 (member, 2002-; executive board, 2004-06, 2012-; secretary, 2006-08; 1st vice-president, 2008-10; president-elect, 2010-11). Member, National Conference of State Legislatures (communications, technology & interstate commerce committee, 2005-07; vice-chair, communications, financial services & interstate commerce committee, 2010-, member, 2007-).

Member, Steering Committee, Bi-County Task Force on Gang Activity, 2004. Co-Chair, Task Force to Study Identity Theft, 2005-07. Presidential Elector, Maryland, 2008. Member, Maryland Council for New Americans, 2009-10. Co-Chair, Task Force to Study Nanobiotechnology, 2010-11; Maryland Commission on Cybersecurity Innovation and Excellence, 2012-14. Member, Telemedicine Task Force, 2013-15; Task Force to Study Bicycle Safety on Maryland Highways, 2017-.

Attorney, U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, 1983-86; U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, 1988-93. Member, U.S. Patent and Trademark Public Advisory Committee, U.S. Dept. of Commerce, 2000-01. Legislative assistant to President, Montgomery County Council, 2000-01.

Born in San Antonio, Texas. Attended Winston Churchill High School, Potomoc, Maryland; University of Maryland College Park, B.A. (political science), 1976. University of San Francisco School of Law, J.D., 1982. Law clerk, Judge Richard Figone, San Francisco Superior Court, 1981-82. Admitted to District of Columbia Bar, 1983 (intellectual property law section); California State Bar, 1983 (intellectual property law section). Attorney, Alexander, Bearden, Hairston, & Marks, L.L.P., 1993-97. Of Counsel, Pena & Associates, P.C., 1997-2001. Of Counsel, Gebhardt & Associates, 2001-. Member, National Asian Pacific American Bar Association; Asian Pacific American Bar Association of Greater Washington (president, 1985). Executive Director, National Democratic Council of Asian and Pacific Americans, 1986-88. Co-Chair, Multicultural Community Partnership, Montgomery County Chapter, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), 1999-2002. Co-Founder, Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies, Washington, DC (board of directors, 1995-2001). Member, Montgomery County Democratic Central Committee. Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016. Member, District 16 Democratic Club; Hispanic Democratic Club of Montgomery County; Montgomery County African-American Democratic Club; Women's Suburban Democratic Club. Co-founder, Coalition of Asian-Pacific-American Democrats of Maryland (past chair). Member, Dialogue on Diversity; Washington Area Lawyers for the Arts; Organization of Chinese Americans; League of Korean Americans of Maryland. Governor's Citation for Noteworthy Community Service, 1999. Community Service Award, Global Mission Church, 1999. Community Service Award, Korean American Senior Citizens Association, 2000. Progressive Leader Award, Progressive Maryland, 2002. Merit Award, Mothers Against Drunk Driving, 2002. Out for Justice Award, Equality Maryland, 2003. Appreciation Award, U.S. Secret Service, 2003. Appreciation Award, Agis Center for Arts and Humanities, 2003. Public Service Award, 2003, and Community Service Award, League of Korean Americans. Senior Advocate Award, Korean-American Senior Citizens Association-Maryland, 2003. Leadership Recognition Award, Maryland Chapter, National Organization for Women, 2005. Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 2006. Inductee, Human Rights Hall of Fame, Montgomery County, 2014. Legislative Champion Award, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2018. Married.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 29, 2023 Maryland State Archives