[photo, Michael A. Jackson, Maryland State Senate] MICHAEL A. JACKSON
Democrat, District 27 Calvert, Charles & Prince George's Counties

Member of Senate since January 13, 2021. Member, Budget and Taxation Committee, 2021- (chair, pensions subcommittee, 2023-, member, 2021-; public safety, transportation & environment subcommittee, 2021-); Joint Committee on Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Biotechnology, 2021-; Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 2023-. Senate Chair, Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 2023-. Vice-Chair, Democratic Party Caucus, 2023-. Member, Judicial Proceedings Committee, 2021. Senate Chair, Calvert County Delegation, 2021-. Member, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland, 2021-. Senate Chair, Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2022-. Chair, Prince George's County Delegation, 2023-.

Member, Board of Trustees, Maryland Veterans Trust, 2021-.

Member of House of Delegates (Democrat), representing District 27B, Calvert and Prince George's Counties, January 14, 2015 to January 13, 2021. Resigned January 13, 2021. Vice-Chair, Appropriations Committee, 2020 (member, 2015-20; oversight committee on personnel, 2015-17; vice-chair, public safety & administration subcommittee, 2019, member, 2015-19; member, capital budget subcommittee, 2020; chair, oversight committee on pensions, 2020, member, 2017-20). Member, Public Safety and Policing Work Group, 2015-16; Joint Audit Committee, 2015-19; Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 2017-20; Joint Committee on Fair Practices and State Personnel Oversight, 2019-20; Joint Audit and Evaluation Committee, 2019-20. House Chair, Joint Committee on Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Biotechnology, 2019-20. Member, Rules and Executive Nominations Committee, 2020; Joint Covid-19 Response Legislative Work Group, 2020. House Chair, Spending Affordability Committee, 2020. Member, Work Group to Address Police Reform and Accountability in Maryland, 2020. Chair, Prince George's County Delegation, 2018-19 (member, county affairs committee, 2017-; vice-chair, law enforcement & state-appointed boards committee, 2015-16). Member, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland, 2015-20; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2015-20; Maryland Military Installation Legislative Caucus, 2017-20.

Member, Task Force to Study the Commemoration of Harriet Elizabeth Brown, 2015-16; Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland, 2015-; Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission, 2016-21; Commission to Advance Next Generation 9-1-1 Across Maryland, 2018-20; Juvenile Justice Reform Council, 2019-21; Southern Maryland Agricultural Development Commission, 2019-; Work Group to Study Partial Expungement, 2021.

Sheriff, Prince George's County, December 2, 2002 to December 6, 2010. Board of Directors, Economic Development Corporation, Prince George's County, 2006-10. Member, Correctional Training Commission, 2007-08; Police Training Commission, 2007-08.

Director, Executive Development Institute, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, 2011-14.

Special Assistant for Homeland Security to County Executive, Prince George's County, 2014-16. Deputy Director, Administrative Division, Office of Homeland Security, Prince George's County, 2016-.

Born in Cheverly, Maryland, March 29, 1964. Attended Crossland High School, Temple Hills, Maryland; DeVry Institute of Technology, B.S. (electronic engineering/technical management), 1986; The Johns Hopkins University, M.S., Police Executive Leadership Program. Served in U.S. Marine Corp Reserves, 1982-85. President, Fraternal Order of Police Lodge no. 112, 1997-2002. President, Maryland Sheriffs' Association, 2007-08 (member, 2002-10; 2nd vice-president, 2005-07). Board of Directors, Court Officers and Deputies Association (secretary/treasurer, 2006-10); National Sheriffs' Association. Member, American Legion Post no. 275; College Park Moose Lodge no. 453; Mitchellville Kiwanis Club. Adjunct Associate Professor (business & applied professional programs), University of Maryland University College, 2007-. Adjunct Associate Professor (business & management), DeVry University, 2009-. Law Enforcement Person of the Year, Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence, 2007. Allied Profession Award, Congressional Victims' Rights Caucus, 2008. Married; one child.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 03, 2023 Maryland State Archives