CHARLES COUNTY, MARYLAND

[County Seal, Charles County, Maryland] Origin: Charles County was created north of the Wicomico River by an Order in Council on April 13, 1658. It is not to be confused with Old Charles County (1650-1653). The County was named for Charles Calvert (1637-1715), heir apparent and later 3rd Lord Baltimore, who lived in Maryland from 1661 to 1684, when he returned to England. Though Proprietor of the Maryland colony from 1675, he lost his right to govern in 1689. Thereafter, Maryland was governed as a royal colony from 1692 until Calvert's death in 1715.

Boundaries: Bounded north by Prince George's County; east by St. Mary's County; south & west by Potomac River.
County Code
County Seat: La Plata, MD 20646
Form of Government: Code Home Rule since 2002
Population: 1990 census: 101,154; 2000 census: 120,546; 2010 census: 146,551; 2020 census: 166,617


Budget

Election Returns

Executive Branch

Historical Chronology

Judicial Branch

Legislative Branch

Maps

Municipalities

Organizational Chart

Records

Reports

U.S. Government Agencies


[photo, Charles County Government Building, 200 Baltimore St., La Plata, Maryland]

Charles County Government Building, 200 Baltimore St., La Plata, Maryland, May 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


websites:
Aging & Senior Programs Division: www.charlescountymd.gov/services/aging-and-senior-services
Animal Control: www.charlescountymd.gov/services/animal-care-control
Circuit Court: www.courts.state.md.us/clerks/charles/index.html
Community College: www.csmd.edu/
Community Services Dept.: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/departments/community-services
County Administrator: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/county-administration
County Attorney: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/departments/county-attorney
County Commissioners: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/board-of-charles-county-commissioners
County Government: www.charlescountymd.gov/
County Government Directory: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/directory
District Court: www.courts.state.md.us/district/directories/courtmap.html#CHARLES
Economic Development Dept.: www.meetcharlescounty.com/
Elections Board: www.charlescountymd.gov/boe/welcome
Emergency Services Dept.: www.charlescountymd.gov/services/emergency-services
Environmental Resources Division: www.charlescountymd.gov/services/environmental-resources
Ethics Commission: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/boards-commissions-committees-and-workgroups/ethics-commission
Fiscal & Administrative Services Dept.: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/departments/fiscal-and-administrative-services
Health Dept.: www.charlescountyhealth.org/
Housing Authority: www.charlescountymd.gov/services/health-and-human-services/housing-services/housing-authority
Human Resources Dept: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/departments/human-resources
Information Technology Dept: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/departments/fiscal-and-administrative-services/information-technology-division
Job Service: www.dllr.state.md.us/county/smd/
Library: https://ccplonline.org/
Parks & Grounds Division: www.charlescountyparks.com/
Planning & Growth Management Dept.: www.charlescountymd.gov/pgm
Public Schools: www.ccboe.com/
Public Works Dept: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/public-works-facilities
Purchasing Division: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/departments/fiscal-and-administrative-services
Recreation, Parks & Tourism Dept.: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/recreation-parks-tourism
Register of Wills: http://registers.maryland.gov/main/charles.html
Roads Division: www.charlescountymd.gov/services/roads
Sheriff's Office: www.ccso.us/
Social Services Dept.: http://dhr.maryland.gov/local-offices/charles-county/
State's Attorney: http://ccsao.us/
Tourism Office: www.charlescountymd.gov/government/recreation-parks-tourism

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance


Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov


This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 08, 2022 Maryland State Archives