WASHINGTON COUNTY, MARYLAND

[County Seal, Washington County, Maryland] Origin: Washington County was created from Frederick County by resolve of the Constitutional Convention of 1776 on September 6, 1776, effective October 1, 1776. The County was named for George Washington (1732-1799), commander of the Continental forces during the Revolutionary War, and first president of the United States.

Boundaries: Bounded north by Pennsylvania; east by South Mountain; south & southwest by Potomac River; west by Allegany County.

County Code
County Seat: Hagerstown, MD 21740
Form of Government: County Commissioners
Population: 1990 census: 121,393; 2000 census: 131,923; 2010 census: 147,430


Budget

Election Returns

Executive Branch

Historical Chronology

Judicial Branch

Legislative Branch

Municipalities

Organizational Chart

Records

Reports

U.S. Government Agencies


[photo, Courthouse entrance, 95 West Washington St. Hagerstown, Maryland]

Courthouse entrance, 95 West Washington St. Hagerstown, Maryland, June 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


websites:
Aging Commission: www.wccoaging.org/
Animal Services: http://hswcmd.org/
Budget & Finance Office: www.washco-md.net/budget-finance/
Business Development Dept.: www.washco-md.net/business-development/
Circuit Court: www.mdcourts.gov/clerks/washington/index.html
Construction Division: www.washco-md.net/construction-div/
County Administrator: www.washco-md.net/county-administrators-office/
County Attorney: www.washco-md.net/county-attorney/
County Commissioners: www.washco-md.net/county-commissioners/
County Government: www.washco-md.net/
Detention Center: https://washcosheriff.com/about-us/officers/detention/
District Court: www.mdcourts.gov/district/directories/courtmap.html#WASHINGTON
Education Dept.: http://wcpsmd.com/
Elections Board: www.washco-mdelections.org/
Emergency Services Division: www.washco-md.net/emergency-services/
Engineering Division: www.washco-md.net/engineering/
Environmental Management Division: www.washco-md.net/enviromental-management/
Grant Management: www.washco-md.net/grant-management/
Health & Human Services Division: www.washco-md.net/health-human-services/
Health Dept.: https://washcohealth.org/
Highway Dept.: www.washco-md.net/highways/
Housing Authority: www.hawcmd.org/
Information Systems Division: www.washco-md.net/information-systems-home/
Job Service: www.dllr.state.md.us/county/west/
Library: www.washcolibrary.org/
Parks & Facilities Dept.: www.washco-md.net/parks-facilities/
Plan Review & Permitting Division: www.washco-md.net/plan-review-permitting/
Planning & Zoning Dept.: www.washco-md.net/planning-zoning/
Public Defender: www.opd.state.md.us/washington
Public Relations & Marketing: www.washco-md.net/pr-marketing/
Public Works Division: www.washco-md.net/public-works/
Purchasing Dept.: www.washco-md.net/purchasing-department/
Register of Wills: http://registers.maryland.gov/main/washington.html
Sheriff's Office: https://washcosheriff.com/
Social Services Dept.: http://dhr.maryland.gov/local-offices/washington-county/
Solid Waste & Recycling Dept.: www.washco-md.net/solid-waste-recycling/
State's Attorney: www2.washco-md.net/sao/index.shtm
Transit Dept.: www.washco-md.net/transit/
Treasurer: www.washco-md.net/treasurers-office/
Water Quality Dept.: www.washco-md.net/water-quality/

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance


Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us


This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright May 16, 2019 Maryland State Archives