Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1777 John Veazey
1777-1813 David Smith
1813-1816 William Alexander
1816-1844 Henry D. Miller
1844-1845 William H. Gilpen
1845-1851 George R. Howard

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1852 George R. Howard
1852-1856 James H. Jamar
1856-1857 Reuben D. Jamar
1857-1863 James McCauley
1863-1865 Chalkely B. Cutler

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 Chalkely B. Cutler

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1878 Reuben D. Jamar (died Dec. 1, 1878)
1878-1879 Reuben E. Jamar
1879-1884 Henry D. Miller (died Feb. 23, 1884)
1884-1903 Reuben E. Jamar
1903-1915 Thomas B. Miller
1915-1921 Rufus D. Bowland
1921-1926 Robert J. McCauley

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1934 Robert J. McCauley
1934-1942 Jesse E. Pierson (R)
1942-1954 W. Andrew Seth (D)
1954-1956 Bessie C. Hartnett

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1966 Bessie C. Hartnett
1966-1982 Ruth H. Towler
1982-1990 Lillian D. Rodgers
1990-1998 R. Sandra Tamargo (D)
1998-2014 Allyn Price Nickle (D)
2014-2018 Michael W. Dawson (R)
2018- Allyn Price Nickle (R) (changed party affiliation from Democrat to Republican in 2018)

Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives