CECIL COUNTY, MARYLAND

[County Seal, Cecil County, Maryland] Origin: Cecil County was erected in 1674 from Baltimore and Kent counties by proclamation of the Governor. The County was named for Cecilius Calvert (1605-1675), Second Lord Baltimore, and founder of the Maryland colony. Although he never lived in Maryland, Cecilius Calvert was Proprietor of the colony from 1632 until his death in Middlesex, England in 1675.

Boundaries: Bounded north by Pennsylvania; east by Delaware; south by Sassafras River; west by Chesapeake Bay & Susquehanna River.
County Charter & Code


[photo, Cecil County Circuit Court Courthouse, 129 East Main St., Elkton, Maryland] County Executives
County Seal
County Seat: Elkton, MD 21921
Form of Government: Charter since December 3, 2012
Population: 1990 census: 71,347; 2000 census: 85,951; 2010 census: 101,108


Circuit Court Courthouse, 129 East Main St., Elkton, Maryland, May 2018. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


Budget

Election Returns

Executive Branch

Historical Chronology

Judicial Branch

Legislative Branch

Maps

Municipalities

Organizational Chart

Records

Reports

U.S. Government Agencies


[photo, Cecil County Administration Building, 200  Chesapeake Blvd., Elkton, Maryland]
  • Bays
  • Creeks
  • Islands
  • Museums

  • County Administration Building, 200 Chesapeake Blvd., Elkton, Maryland, May 2018. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


    websites:
    Animal Services: www.ccgov.org/government/animal-services
    Budget Dept.: www.ccgov.org/government/budget
    Circuit Court: www.mdcourts.gov/clerks/cecil/index.html
    Community College: www.cecil.edu/Pages/default.aspx
    Community Services: www.ccgov.org/government/community-services
    County Council: www.ccgov.org/government/county-council
    County Executive: www.ccgov.org/government/office-of-the-county-executive
    County Government: www.ccgov.org/government
    County Government Directory: www.ccgov.org/about-us/contact-directory-1673
    Detention Center: www.ccgov.org/government/sheriff-s-office/detention-center
    District Court: www.mdcourts.gov/district/directories/courtmap.html#CECIL
    Economic Development Office: www.ccgov.org/government/economic-development
    Elections Board: www.ccgov.org/government/election-board
    Emergency Services Dept.: www.ccdes.org/
    Ethics Commission: www.ccgov.org/government/boards-and-commissions/ethics-commission
    Facility Management & Maintenance Dept.: www.ccgov.org/government/facilities-maintenance
    Finance Dept.: www.ccgov.org/government/finance
    Health Dept.: http://cecilcountyhealth.org/
    Housing & Community Development: www.ccgov.org/government/community-services/housing
    Human Resources: www.ccgov.org/government/human-resources
    Information Technology: www.ccgov.org/government/information-technology
    Job Service: http://dllr.maryland.gov/county/susq/
    Land Use & Development Services Dept.: www.ccgov.org/government/land-use-development-services
    Library: www.cecil.ebranch.info/
    Orphans' Court: www.ccgov.org/government/orphans-court
    Parks & Recreation: www.ccgov.org/government/parks-and-recreation
    Permits & Inspections Division: www.ccgov.org/government/land-use-development-services/permits-and-inspections-division
    Planning & Zoning Division: www.ccgov.org/government/land-use-development-services/planning-zoning-division
    Public Schools: www.ccps.org/cecil
    Public Works: www.ccgov.org/government/public-works
    Purchasing Office: www.ccgov.org/government/purchasing
    Register of Wills: http://registers.maryland.gov/main/cecil.html
    Sheriff's Office: www.ccgov.org/government/sheriff-s-office-1701
    Social Services Dept.: http://dhr.maryland.gov/local-offices/cecil-county/
    State's Attorney: www.ccgov.org/government/state-s-attorney-s-office
    Tourism Office: www.ccgov.org/government/tourism

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance


    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual
    e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us


    This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.


    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright May 23, 2018 Maryland State Archives