Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1857-1865 Thomas B. Hobbs

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 Thomas B. Hobbs

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1873 Eli T. Peddicord
1873-1874 Benjamin H. Dorsey (D) (died 1874)
1874-1881 Edwin Warfield (D)
1881-1887 Thomas L. Maclin
1887-1899 Isaac Scaggs
1899-1905 William H. Marlow
1905-1923 Richard Davis of W.
1923-1926 Martin F. Burk

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 Charles H. Ridgely
1930-1956 Raymond L. Pickett (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1966 Raymond L. Pickett (D)
1966-1982 George W. Slack
1982-1986 Mary M. Grimes
1986-2010 Kay K. Hartleb (R)
2010- Byron E. Macfarlane (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives