Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1777-1779 Walter Harrison
1779-1781 Daniel Jenifer
1781-1796 John Murkets
1796-1825 Humphrey Barnes
1825-1833 William Duhurst Merrick (W)
1833-1838 Henry Brawner
1838-1846 Aquilla Bateman
1846-1851 Daniel Jenifer

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1857 Timothy A. Smith (W)
1857-1862 James D. Carpenter (W)
1862-1863 W. A. Carpenter
1863-1865 Joseph Stewart

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 Joseph Stewart

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1873 Joseph Stewart
1873-1879 M. Thompson
1879-1885 James M. Harvey
1885-1897 J. Benjamin Mattingly
1897-1903 Cataldus H. Posey (R)
1903-1909 Francis B. Matthews
1909-1915 Philip E. Sasscer (D)
1915-1921 Charles N. Dement (R)
1921-1926 Notley T. Dutton

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1927 Notley T. Dutton
1927-1934 George A. Wade (R)
1934-1946 Ruth E. Carpenter (D)
1946-1956 Evelyn R. Posey Primeau

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1958 Georgietta Croft
1958-1990 Gertrude C. Wright
1990-2010 Susie C. Bowles (R)
2010- Loraine Davies Hennessy (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives