Blake Langford, Advisor (443) 379-9493; e-mail: blake.langford@maryland.gov

Appointed by Governor to 2-year terms: Ronald E. Gill, Jr., Chair (chosen by Governor), 2024 Michael J. Berna; Jonathan H. Bratt; Douglas W. Brown; Timothy K. Cameron; Jonathan M. Dayton; Jonathan D. Favorite; Dwayne C. Freeman; Tiffany D. Green; Adrian J. Grieve; Earl F. (Buddy) Hance; Jasper D. Jones; Joseph L. Lafleur; Jennifer L. Martin, Esq.; Ryan A. Miller; Thomas C. Moran; Marverly K. Nettles; Robert H. Poole; Kevin J. Simmons; Clay B. Stamp; Bruce A. Wahl; Stephen A. Wantz; David L. Willenborg. Terms expire 2024.

c/o Maryland Department of Emergency Management
State Emergency Operations Center
Camp Fretterd Military Reservation, 5401 Rue Saint Lo Drive, Reisterstown, MD 21136
web: https://mdem.maryland.gov/community/Pages/GEMAC.aspx


The Emergency Management Advisory Council started in 1950 as the Civil Defense Advisory Council (Chapter 563, Acts of 1949). In 1975, it was renamed the Civil Defense and Disaster Preparedness Advisory Council (Chapter 666, Acts of 1975). It became the Emergency Management Advisory Council in 1981 (Chapter 505, Acts of 1981). The Council advises the Governor on matters of State emergency management and civil defense (Chapter 505, Acts of 1981).

Appointed by the Governor, the Council includes representatives from State and local government, and volunteer organizations, such as firefighter companies and rescue squads (Code Public Safety Article, sec. 14-105).

The Emergency Management Advisory Council also serves as the Maryland State Emergency Response Commission.

To protect people and the environment from hazardous chemical material, the Governor in 1987 designated the Emergency Management Advisory Council to serve as the Maryland State Emergency Response Commission (Executive Order 01.01.1987.11). The designation was made in accordance with Title III of the federal Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (P.L. 99-499).

Fulfilling its federal functions, the Maryland State Emergency Response Commission established emergency response planning districts and local emergency planning committees. The Commission receives and distributes certain material safety data sheets, hazardous chemical inventories, and toxic chemical release forms.

Defunct Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 20, 2023 Maryland State Archives