[photo, 301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland] Vice-Chair: Rebecca L. Flora, Secretary of Planning

Representative of Governor's Office: one vacancy

301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland, March 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Ex officio: Kevin M. Atticks, Secretary of Agriculture; Helene T. Grady, Secretary of Budget & Management; Kevin A. Anderson, Secretary of Commerce; Serena C. McIlwain, Secretary of the Environment; Atif T. Chaudhry, Secretary of General Services; Laura Herrera Scott, M.D., Secretary of Health; Jacob R. Day, Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Carol Anne Gilbert, Assistant Secretary for Neighborhood Revitalization, Dept. of Housing & Community Development; Portia Y. Wu, Esq., Secretary of Labor; Joshua E. Kurtz, Secretary of Natural Resources; Paul J. Wiedefeld, Secretary of Transportation; Sanjay K. Rai, Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education; Paul G. Pinsky, Director, Maryland Energy Administration; Gerrit J. Knaap, Ph.D., Executive Director, National Center for Smart Growth Research & Education, University of Maryland, College Park.

Staff: Charles W. (Chuck) Boyd

c/o Planning Services Division, Department of Planning
301 West Preston St., Suite 1101, Baltimore, MD 21201 - 2365
(410) 767-1401

Established by the Governor, the Smart Growth Subcabinet began as the Smart Growth and Neighborhood Conservation Subcabinet in January 1998 (Executive Order 01.01.1998.04). It was reformed by statute effective July 1, 2001 (Chapter 566, Acts of 2001; Code State Government Article, sec. 9-1406).

The Subcabinet helps implement Smart Growth Policy, recommending to the Governor changes in State law, regulations, and procedures needed to support the Policy (Chapter 759, Acts of 1997). Since 2003, the Subcabinet also oversees the Priority Places Strategy (Executive Order 01.01.2003.33). Further, the Subcabinet works to create, enhance, support, and revitalize sustainable communities across Maryland (Chapter 487, Acts of 2010).

Under the Subcabinet is the Smart Growth Coordinating Committee.

Defunct Subcabinet & Cabinet Council Units

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright May 08, 2024 Maryland State Archives