GOVERNOR

GOVERNOR'S EXECUTIVE COUNCIL
(CABINET)


[photo, State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland]
  • Subcabinets & Cabinet Councils


  • State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland, April 2007. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


    Chair: Wes Moore, Governor (410) 974-3901; e-mail: http://governor.maryland.gov/contact-the-governors-office/

    Aruna Miller, Lt. Governor (410) 974-2461; e-mail: lt.governor@maryland.gov
    Susan C. Lee, Secretary of State (410) 260-3894; e-mail: dlmdsos_sos@maryland.gov
    Carmel Roques, Acting Secretary of Aging (410) 767-1102; e-mail: carmel.roques@maryland.gov
    Kevin M. Atticks, Acting Secretary of Agriculture (410) 841-5880; e-mail: kevin.atticks@maryland.gov
    Helene T. Grady, Acting Secretary of Budget & Management (410) 260-7041; e-mail: helene.grady@maryland.gov
    Signe J. Pringle, Acting Secretary of Commerce (410) 767-6301; e-mail: signe.pringle@maryland.gov
    Carol A. Beatty, Secretary of Disabilities (410) 767-3661; e-mail: carol.beatty@maryland.gov
    Mohammed Choudhury, State Superintendent of Schools (410) 767-0462; e-mail: mohammed.choudhury@maryland.gov
    Russell J. Strickland, Secretary of Emergency Management (410) 517-3601; e-mail: russell.strickland@maryland.gov
    Serena Coleman McIlwain, Acting Secretary of the Environment (410) 537-3084; e-mail: serena.mcilwain@maryland.gov
    Ellington E. Churchill, Jr., Secretary of General Services (410) 767-4960; e-mail: ellington.churchill@maryland.gov
    Laura Herrera Scott, M.D., Acting Secretary of Health (410) 767-6505; e-mail:
    Jacob R. Day, Acting Secretary of Housing & Community Development (301) 429-7451; e-mail: jake.day@maryland.gov
    Lourdes R. Padilla, Secretary of Human Services (410) 767-7616; e-mail: lourdes.padilla@maryland.gov
    Melissa Leaman, Acting Secretary of Information Technology (410) 697-9401; e-mail: melissa.leaman@maryland.gov
    Sam J. Abed, Secretary of Juvenile Services (410) 230-3100; e-mail: sam.abed@maryland.gov
    Tiffany P. Robinson, Esq., Secretary of Labor (410) 230-6000; e-mail: tiffany.robinson@maryland.gov
    Josh Kurtz, Acting Secretary of Natural Resources (410) 260-8101; e-mail: josh.kurtz@maryland.gov
    Rebecca Flora, Acting Secretary of Planning (410) 767-4510; e-mail: rebecca.flora@maryland.gov
    Carolyn J. Scruggs, Acting Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services (410) 339-5005; e-mail: secretary.dpscs@maryland.gov
    Lt. Col. Dalaine M. Brady, Acting Secretary of State Police (410) 653-4219; e-mail: msp.superintendent@maryland.gov
    Paul J. Wiedefeld, Acting Secretary of Transportation (410) 865-1000; e-mail: secretary@mdot.state.md.us
    George W. Owings III, Secretary of Veterans Affairs (410) 260-3838; e-mail: secretary.mdva@maryland.gov
    James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education (410) 767-3301; e-mail: james.fielder@maryland.gov
    Maj. Gen. Timothy E. Gowen, Adjutant General (410) 576-6097; e-mail: timothy.e.gowen.mil@mail.mil

    Contact: Fagan Harris Chief of Staff

    State House, 100 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
    (410) 974-3570; fax: (410) 974-5735
    e-mail: fagan.harris@maryland.gov

    In 1922, the Governor's Executive Council originated as the Governor's Advisory Council. It reorganized in 1969 as the Governor's Executive Council. Today, the Council is known as the Governor's Cabinet. Meeting weekly, it coordinates, directs, and supervises State government.

    Twenty-six ex officio members constitute the Council. They include the Governor, who chairs the Council; the Lieutenant Governor; the Secretary of State; the secretary of each principal department of the Executive Branch of State government; the State Superintendent of Schools; the Secretary of Higher Education, and the Adjutant General. The Governor may appoint an executive secretary for the Council (Code State Government Article, secs. 8-101 through 8-105; Public Safety Article, sec. 13-301).

    Defunct Units

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance


    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual
    e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov


    This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.


    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright January 28, 2023 Maryland State Archives