GOVERNOR

GOVERNOR'S EXECUTIVE COUNCIL
(CABINET)


[photo, State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland]
  • Subcabinets & Cabinet Councils


  • State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland, April 2007. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


    Chair: Wes Moore, Governor (410) 974-3901; e-mail: http://governor.maryland.gov/contact-the-governors-office/

    Aruna K. Miller, Lt. Governor (410) 974-2461; e-mail: lt.governor@maryland.gov
    Susan C. Lee, Secretary of State (410) 260-3894; e-mail: dlmdsos_sos@maryland.gov
    Carmel Roques, Secretary of Aging (410) 767-1102; e-mail: carmel.roques@maryland.gov
    Kevin M. Atticks, Secretary of Agriculture (410) 841-5880; e-mail: kevin.atticks@maryland.gov
    Helene T. Grady, Secretary of Budget & Management (410) 260-7041; e-mail: helene.grady2@maryland.gov
    Kevin A. Anderson, Secretary of Commerce (410) 767-6301; e-mail: kevin.anderson1@maryland.gov
    Carol A. Beatty, Secretary of Disabilities (410) 767-3661; e-mail: carol.beatty@maryland.gov
    Mohammed Choudhury, State Superintendent of Schools (410) 767-0462; e-mail: mohammed.choudhury@maryland.gov
    Russell J. Strickland, Secretary of Emergency Management (410) 517-3601; e-mail: russell.strickland@maryland.gov
    Serena C. McIlwain, Secretary of the Environment (410) 537-3084; e-mail: mde.secretary@maryland.gov
    Atif T. Chaudhry, Secretary of General Services (410) 767-4960; e-mail: atif.chaudhry@maryland.gov
    Laura Herrera Scott, M.D., Secretary of Health (410) 767-6505; e-mail: laura.herrerascott@maryland.gov
    Jacob R. Day, Secretary of Housing & Community Development (301) 429-7451; e-mail: jake.day@maryland.gov
    Rafael J. Lopez, Secretary of Human Services (410) 767-5034; e-mail: rafael.lopez@maryland.gov
    Katie Olson Savage, Secretary of Information Technology (410) 697-9401; e-mail: katie.savage@maryland.gov
    Vincent N. Schiraldi, Secretary of Juvenile Services (410) 230-3100; e-mail: vincent.schiraldi@maryland.gov
    Portia Y. Wu, Esq., Secretary of Labor (410) 230-6000; e-mail: portia.wu@maryland.gov
    Joshua E. Kurtz, Secretary of Natural Resources (410) 260-8101; e-mail: josh.kurtz@maryland.gov
    Rebecca L. Flora, Secretary of Planning (410) 767-4510; e-mail: rebecca.flora@maryland.gov
    Carolyn J. Scruggs, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services (410) 339-5005; e-mail: secretary.dpscs@maryland.gov
    D. Paul Monteiro, Jr., Secretary of Service & Civic Innovation (410) 697-9492; e-mail: paul.monteiro@maryland.gov
    Col. Roland L. Butler, Jr., Secretary of State Police (410) 653-4219; e-mail: msp.superintendent@maryland.gov
    Paul J. Wiedefeld, Secretary of Transportation (410) 865-1000; e-mail: secretary@mdot.state.md.us
    Anthony C. Woods, Secretary of Veterans Affairs (410) 260-3838; e-mail: secretary.mdva@maryland.gov
    Sanjay K. Rai, Ph.D., Acting Secretary of Higher Education (410) 767-3301; e-mail: sanjay.rai@maryland.gov
    Maj. Gen. Janeen L. Birckhead, Adjutant General (410) 576-6097; e-mail: janeen.l.birckhead.mil@mail.mil

    Contact: Fagan Harris, Chief of Staff

    State House, 100 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
    (410) 974-3570; fax: (410) 974-5735
    e-mail: fagan.harris2@maryland.gov

    In 1922, the Governor's Executive Council originated as the Governor's Advisory Council. It reorganized in 1969 as the Governor's Executive Council. Today, the Council is known as the Governor's Cabinet.

    Meeting weekly, the Governor's Executive Council coordinates, directs, and supervises the Executive Branch of State government.

    Twenty-eight ex officio members constitute the Council. They include the Governor, who chairs the Council; the Lieutenant Governor; the Secretary of State; the secretary of each principal department of the Executive Branch of State government; the State Superintendent of Schools; the Secretary of Higher Education, and the Adjutant General. The Governor may appoint an executive secretary for the Council (Code State Government Article, secs. 8-101 through 8-105; Public Safety Article, sec. 13-301).

    Defunct Units

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance


    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual
    e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov


    This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.


    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright September 07, 2023 Maryland State Archives