[photo, State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland]
  • Subcabinets & Cabinet Councils

  • State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland, April 2007. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    Chair: Wes Moore, Governor (410) 974-3901; e-mail:

    Aruna Miller, Lt. Governor (410) 974-2461; e-mail:
    Susan C. Lee, Secretary of State (410) 260-3894; e-mail:
    Carmel Roques, Acting Secretary of Aging (410) 767-1102; e-mail:
    Kevin M. Atticks, Acting Secretary of Agriculture (410) 841-5880; e-mail:
    Helene T. Grady, Acting Secretary of Budget & Management (410) 260-7041; e-mail:
    Signe J. Pringle, Acting Secretary of Commerce (410) 767-6301; e-mail:
    Carol A. Beatty, Secretary of Disabilities (410) 767-3661; e-mail:
    Mohammed Choudhury, State Superintendent of Schools (410) 767-0462; e-mail:
    Russell J. Strickland, Secretary of Emergency Management (410) 517-3601; e-mail:
    Serena Coleman McIlwain, Acting Secretary of the Environment (410) 537-3084; e-mail:
    Ellington E. Churchill, Jr., Secretary of General Services (410) 767-4960; e-mail:
    Laura Herrera Scott, M.D., Acting Secretary of Health (410) 767-6505; e-mail:
    Jacob R. Day, Acting Secretary of Housing & Community Development (301) 429-7451; e-mail:
    Lourdes R. Padilla, Secretary of Human Services (410) 767-7616; e-mail:
    Melissa Leaman, Acting Secretary of Information Technology (410) 697-9401; e-mail:
    Sam J. Abed, Secretary of Juvenile Services (410) 230-3100; e-mail:
    Tiffany P. Robinson, Esq., Secretary of Labor (410) 230-6000; e-mail:
    Josh Kurtz, Acting Secretary of Natural Resources (410) 260-8101; e-mail:
    Rebecca Flora, Acting Secretary of Planning (410) 767-4510; e-mail:
    Carolyn J. Scruggs, Acting Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services (410) 339-5005; e-mail:
    Lt. Col. Dalaine M. Brady, Acting Secretary of State Police (410) 653-4219; e-mail:
    Paul J. Wiedefeld, Acting Secretary of Transportation (410) 865-1000; e-mail:
    George W. Owings III, Secretary of Veterans Affairs (410) 260-3838; e-mail:
    James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education (410) 767-3301; e-mail:
    Maj. Gen. Timothy E. Gowen, Adjutant General (410) 576-6097; e-mail:

    Contact: Fagan Harris Chief of Staff

    State House, 100 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
    (410) 974-3570; fax: (410) 974-5735

    In 1922, the Governor's Executive Council originated as the Governor's Advisory Council. It reorganized in 1969 as the Governor's Executive Council. Today, the Council is known as the Governor's Cabinet. Meeting weekly, it coordinates, directs, and supervises State government.

    Twenty-six ex officio members constitute the Council. They include the Governor, who chairs the Council; the Lieutenant Governor; the Secretary of State; the secretary of each principal department of the Executive Branch of State government; the State Superintendent of Schools; the Secretary of Higher Education, and the Adjutant General. The Governor may appoint an executive secretary for the Council (Code State Government Article, secs. 8-101 through 8-105; Public Safety Article, sec. 13-301).

    Defunct Units

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

    This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright January 28, 2023 Maryland State Archives