Sarah K. Elfreth, Senate Chair (chosen by Senate President) (410) 841-3578, (301) 858-3578
Samuel I. Rosenberg, House Chair (chosen by House Speaker) (410) 841-3297, (301) 858-3297

[photo, Legislative Services Building, 1st floor stairwell, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, Maryland] Staff: Georgeanne A. Carter; e-mail:
John J. Joyce; e-mail:
Kathleen P. Kennedy; e-mail:

c/o Department of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5350, (301) 970-5350; 1-800-492-7122, ext. 5350 (toll free)

  • Annual [Interim] Report, 2016
  • Annual [Interim] Report, 2012

  • Legislative Services Building, 1st floor stairwell, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, Maryland, January 2018. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    Annual Report to Legislative Policy Committee & General Assembly.

    In 1964, the Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review (AELR) was formed as the Committee on Legislative Review (Chapter 96, Acts of 1964). It received its present name in 1972 (Chapters 400 and 699, Acts of 1972).

    Proposed State agency regulations are reviewed by the Committee with regard to the legislative prerogative and procedural due process. Moreover, periodic review and evaluation of existing regulations are monitored by the Committee, which also may be designated by the General Assembly to monitor the implementation of specific legislation by a State agency. In addition, the Committee may inquire into any alleged failure of a State government officer or employee to comply with Maryland statutory or constitutional law.

    Copies of all regulations of each State agency are received by the Committee. Unless submitted to the Committee, certain regulations or standards may be invalid (Code State Government Article, secs. 10-101 through 10-139). The Committee also is required to receive emergency energy executive orders promulgated by the Governor (Chapter 1, Acts of 2nd Special Session of 1973). This legislative authority has been updated annually.

    For the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR), the Committee sits as a legislative advisory board.

    Twenty members comprise the Committee. Ten are senators appointed by the Senate President, and ten are delegates appointed by the House Speaker at the beginning of each regular session. Members serve for one year. The chair and vice-chair alternate each year between the two houses. Representation of each political party is approximately in the same proportion as its membership in each chamber (Code State Government Article, secs. 2-501 through 2-507).

    House of Delegates
    General Assembly
    Legislative Committees
    Legislative Process
    Maryland Government
    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

    This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives