• Burgesses
  • Mayors


    1862-1872 St. Felix Colardeau
    1872-1873 J. M. Jarboe
    1873-1875 John Daily
    1875-1876 Richard T. Browning
    1876-1877 D. M. Mason
    1877-1878 John M. Read
    1878-1879 D. E. Offutt
    1879-1881 G. W. Delander
    1881 Alexander Osborne
    1881-1882 Andrew B. Gonder
    1882-1883 Owen Hart
    1883-1884 O. W. Heiskell
    1884-1886 D. E. Offutt


    1886-1888 Owen Hart
    1888-1890 D. M. Mason
    1890-1892 Owen Hart
    1892-1894 A. G. Sturgiss
    1894-1896 D. M. Mason
    1896-1898 Henry W. McComas
    1898-1900 R. S. Jamison
    1900-1902 John W. Hart
    1902-1904 H. J. Frear
    1904-1908 Henry W. McComas
    1908-1910 Truman West
    1910-1912 John W. Hart
    1912-1914 Henry W. McComas
    1914-1916 A. T. Matthews
    1916-1918 George Giessman
    1918-1920 W. R. Offutt
    1920-1922 Thomas A. Gonder
    1922-1924 Henry W. McComas
    1924-1930 Lawrence M. Fraley
    1930-1938 Grover C. Stemple
    1938-1946 Lawrence M. Fraley
    1946-1948 Alexander G. Hesen
    1948-1956 Joseph Hinebaugh
    1956-1968 Russell L. Smith
    1968-1988 Harvey D. Swartzentruber
    1988-2009 Asa M. McCain (retired July 3, 2009)
    2010- Margaret J. (Peggy) Jamison (acting mayor July 3, 2009 to March 8, 2010)

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

    This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright June 01, 2018 Maryland State Archives