[photo, Railroad Station, 117 East Liberty St., Oakland, Maryland]
  • Map of Urban Areas in Garrett County, 2010
  • Garrett County has eight municipalites: Accident, Deer Park, Friendsville, Grantsville, Kitzmiller, Loch Lynn Heights, Mountain Lake Park, and Oakland. The oldest is Oakland, the county seat, incorporated in 1862. Thereafter, municipal government formed at Grantsville (1864), Deer Park (1884), Loch Lynn Heights (1896), Friendsville (1902), Kitzmiller (1906), Accident (1916), and Mountain Lake Park (1931).

    Railroad Station, 117 East Liberty St., Oakland, Maryland, October 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

    This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives