Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1777 Benton Harris
1777-1780 William Morris
1780-1782 John Morris
1782-1792 John Wise
1792-1799 Levin Handy
1799-1806 James B. Robbins
1806-1824 Matthew Hopkins
1824-1839 Lemuel P. Spence
1839-1846 Samuel R. Smith
1846-1851 Teagle Townsend

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1857 George B. Gray
1857-1863 Thomas P. Parket
1863-1865 Edward Hubbell

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 Dr. George Wilson Bishop

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1873 Dr. George Wilson Bishop
1873-1884 George T. Bratten
1884-1897 Thomas D. Purnell
1897-1915 Edward P. Davis
1915-1921 Asbury C. Riley (R)
1921-1926 Paul James

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1938 Paul James
1938-1953 Frank E. Hudson (D)
1953-1956 Kathryn J. Corddry (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1974 Kathryn J. Corddry (D)
1974-1986 Charlotte L. Outten
1986-1998 Stephen V. Hales (D)
1998-2018 Charlotte K. Cathell (R)
2018- Terri Delaney Westcott (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives