Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1777-1785 John Bracco
1785-1787 James Bracco
1787-1792 John Gibson, Jr.
1792-1845 James Price
1845-1851 John H. Harris

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1857 John Donovan
1857-1862 Nicholas Rice (died Jan. 29, 1862)
1862-1863 Tilghman N. Chance
1863-1865 John Goldsborough

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 John Goldsborough

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1878 Tilghman N. Chance (resigned effective Jan. 1, 1878)
1878-1879 Charles R. Mulliken
1879-1897 Edward H. Roe
1897-1915 Charles R. Wooters
1915-1921 Ernest H. Burns
1921-1926 James A. Spence

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1934 James A. Spence
1934-1942 J. Dawson Stafford
1942-1946 James L. Stichberry
1946-1948 Robert A. Dodson (died April 10, 1948)
1948-1956 Ruth R. Startt (D) (1912-2006)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1966 Ruth R. Startt (D) (1912-2006)
1966-1978 Harry N. Wilson (D)
1978-1986 C. Kenneth Dulin (D) (1920-2011)
1986-2012 Alice W. Anderson (D) (retired Dec. 31, 2012)
2013- Patricia E. Campen (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives