Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1777-1805 Samuel Tyler
1805-1829 Trueman Tyler (died 1829)
1829-1845 Philemon Chew
1845-1851 Dr. James Harper

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1865 William A. Jarboe

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1857 Alpheus H. Lamber

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1871 Alpheus H. Lamber
1871-1877 William A. Jarboe, Jr.
1877-1883 William R. Smallwood
1883-1889 Alonzo G. Darcey
1889-1895 J. Benson Perrie
1895-1899 Richard N. Ryan
1899-1907 William R. Smith
1907-1913 William A. Miller
1913-1919 George P. Hickey
1919-1926 William T. Davis (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1942 William T. Davis (R)
1942-1946 William E. Clifton (D)
1946-1950 Griffith S. Oursler
1950-1954 W. Curtis Hopkins
1954-1956 Walter D. Addison

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1966 Walter D. Addison
1966-1978 Genella S. McGinniss
1978-1994 Callie Mae Heffron (D)
1994-2000 Joanne L. O'Brien (D)
2000-2006 Lynn Loughlin Skerpon (D)
2006- Cereta A. Lee (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 09, 2017 Maryland State Archives