Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1851-1854 William H. G. Dorsey
1854-1855 John T. B. Dorsey
1855-1859 George W. Sands (R)
1859-1963 John R. Clark
1863-1865 George W. Sands (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):
1865-1867 George W. Sands (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1867-1876 Henry E. Wooton
1876-1885 Edwin Linthicum (D)
1885-1899 Joseph D. McGuire
1899-1912 Martin F. Burke (D)
1912-1920 Joseph L. Donovan
1920-1924 James Clark
1924-1930 Reuben D. Rogers
1930-1935 James Clark
1935-1947 C. Ferdinand Sybert (D)
1947-1955 Daniel M. Murray, Jr. (D)
1955-1959 C. Orman Manahan (D)
1959-1963 T. Hunt Mayfield
1963-1966 Cornelius F. Sybert, Jr.
1966-1975 Richard J. Kinlein (R)
1975-1979 Charles E. Wehland (D)
1979-1994 William R. Hymes (D)
1994-2003 Marna L. McLendon (R)
2003-2007 Timothy J. McCrone (D)
2007-2008 Dario J. Broccolino (D), Interim State's Attorney
2008-2019 Dario J. Broccolino (D)
2019- Richard H. Gibson, Jr. (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright May 07, 2020 Maryland State Archives