Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1777-1780 J. Beale Howard
1780-1799 John George Bradford
1799-1813 Abraham Jarrett
1813-1818 Samuel Richardson
1818-1845 Thomas S. Bond
1845-1851 Charlton W. Billingslea

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1857 Charlton W. Billingslea
1857-1865 Benedict H. Hanson

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 Benedict H. Hanson

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1873 Joseph R. Ely
1873-1885 Dr. William S. Richardson
1885-1889 Dr. James M. McGraw
1889 Edwin H. Webster of John
1889-1901 G. Smith Norris
1901-1913 Hugh T. Bay (D)
1913-1919 John Archer
1919-1926 Charles S. Warner (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 Charles H. Reed
1930-1942 A. James Gross (D)
1942-1954 Robert L. Wheeler (D)
1954-1956 Thomas L. Adams

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1974 Thomas L. Adams
1974-1986 Janet G. Marshall
1986-2006 Harry L. W. Hopkins, Jr. (R)
2006-2010 Harry L. W. Hopkins, Jr. (D)
2010- Derek K. Hopkins (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives