Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1777-1805 George Murdock
1805-1815 Richard Butler
1815-1825 Henry Steiner
1825-1845 George M. Eichelberger
1845-1851 Thomas Sappington

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1857 George Hoskins
1857-1863 Absalom P. Kessler
1863-1865 Thomas L. McLean

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 Thomas L. McLean

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1873 Sebastian G. Cockey
1873-1879 John R. Rouzer (R)
1879-1885 James P. Perry (R)
1885-1891 Hamilton Lindsay
1891-1897 James K. Waters (D)
1897-1903 Charles E. Sayler
1903-1909 William B. Cutshall (R)
1909-1915 Samuel D. Thomas (D)
1915-1921 Albert M. Patterson (R)
1921-1926 George E. Smith (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1927 George E. Smith (D) (died Jan. 24, 1927)
1927 Russell E. Lighter (D)
1927-1929 Charles E. Butts (D) (died June 1, 1929)
1929-1930 Charles E. V. Myers (D)
1930-1934 Melvin F. Shepley (R)
1934-1938 John Hershberger (D)
1938-1946 Roy L. Leatherman (R)
1946-1956 Harry D. Radcliff (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1958 Harry D. Radcliff (R)
1958-1990 Thomas M. Eichelberger (D)
1990-2013 Virginia P. Fifer (R) (died Oct. 26, 2013)
2014- Sharon Keller (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives