Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1674-1676 Edward Williams
1676-1681 Swithen Wells (dismissed)
1681-1686 John Thompson, Sr.
1686-1687 George Oldfield
1687 Philemon Morrey
1687-1689 Daniel Pearce (forced out by Protestant Associators)

Appointed by act of Convention:
1689-1692 John Thompson, Sr.

Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1692-1694 John Thompson, Sr.
1694-1698 Charles Bass (dismissed)
1698-1702 Daniel Pearce (resigned)
1702-1718 John Dowdall (resigned)
1718-1733 Stephen Knight (resigned)
1733-1746 William Knight (resigned)
1746-1749 Francis Lee (died Sept. 1749)
1749-1756 Matthias Bordley (died Sept. 15, 1756)
1756-1770 Francis Key (died Nov. 1770)
1770-1776 Benjamin Young, Jr.
1776-1777 Baruch Williams

Appointed by County Court Justices (Constitution of 1776, sec. 47):
1777-1787 Baruch Williams

1792-1805 John Baxter
1805-1842 James Sewall (died 1842)
1842-1849 George McCullough
1849-1851 Richard Carmichael Hollyday


Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 14):
1851-1857 Henry H. Mitchell (D)
1857-1865 William H. Ricketts

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 29):
1865-1867 Charles H. Haines

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1867-1873 David Scott of James
1873-1879 Arthur W. Mitchell (D)
1879-1891 James A. Davis (R)
1891-1897 William D. Howard
1897-1903 John G. Williams
1903-1909 Manly Drennen
1909-1915 Cecil Kirk
1915-1921 Charles S. Peacock
1921-1926 H. Winfield Lewis

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 R. Ralph Andrews
1930-1934 Warren M. Albrittain
1934-1938 Walter E. Buck
1938-1942 Ralph R. Crothers (R)
1942-1946 Walter E. Buck (D)
1946-1954 Ralph R. Crothers (R)
1954-1958 W. Andrew Seth

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1958-1978 W. Andrew Seth
1978-1994 Nelson D. Stubbs (D)
1994-2010 William L. Brueckman (D)
2010-2015 Derrick W. Lowe (R)
2015- Charlene M. Notarcola

Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives