Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1837-1851 John Baumgartner

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1853 John Baumgartner
1853-1865 Joseph M. Parke

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 Henry H. Harbaugh

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1873 Joseph M. Parke
1873-1879 Henry E. Beltz
1879-1885 J. Oliver Wadlow
1885-1897 George M. Parks
1897-1903 Joseph D. Brooks
1903-1909 John J. Stewart
1909-1921 William Arthur
1922-1926 William F. Bricker (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 William F. Bricker (R)
1930-1942 Harry G. Berwanger (D)
1942-1954 J. Walter Grumbine (R)
1954-1956 J. Wesley Mathias (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1966 J. Wesley Mathias (R)
1966-1994 Reese Leppo Starner (R)
1994-2002 Nancy L. Airing (R)
2002- Paul G. Zimmerman (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives