Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1777-1780 Elie Vallette
1780-1787 Thomas Gassaway
1787-1820 John Gassaway
1820-1828 Thomas Harwood Hall (died Aug. 11, 1828)
1828-1832 Thomas T. Simmons
1832-1845 Samuel Brown, Jr.
1845-1851 Benjamin E. Gantt

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1863 Benjamin E. Gantt
1863-1865 Richard Duvall

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 Richard Duvall

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1868 Mareen M. Duvall (died Sept. 3, 1868)
1868-1869 Thomas K. Carey
1869-1875 William Bryan
1875-1881 William T. Revell
1881-1887 John William Brashears (D)
1887-1893 Wilbur F. Petherbridge
1893-1899 Richard Baldwin
1899-1905 Luther A. Palmer (R)
1905-1910 Benjamin R. Davidson (D) (died May 1, 1910)
1910-1926 Oden B. Duckett (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 Oden B. Duckett (D)
1930-1934 George T. Cromwell (D)
1934-1936 W. Meade Holladay (D)
1936-1938 Lucy S. Holladay
1938-1954 R. Glenn Prout (D)
1954-1956 H. Stanley Clark (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1958 H. Stanley Clark (D)
1958-1978 George M. Nutwell, Sr. (D)
1978-1985 Nan Edith Hatch
1985-1986 Hazel I. Moreland (D)
1986-2006 George M. Nutwell, Jr. (R)
2006-2022 Lauren M. Parker (R)
2022- Erica Griswold (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright December 29, 2022 Maryland State Archives