[photo, Boat on Somers Cove, Crisfield, Maryland] Thomas G. Schisler, Executive Director (appointed by Secretary of Natural Resources)

715 Broadway, Crisfield, MD 21817
(410) 968-0925; 1-800-967-3474 (toll free)

Boat on Somers Cove, Crisfield, Maryland, June 2018. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Vacancy, Chair (chosen by Commission)
Vacancy, Vice-Chair (chosen by Commission)
Bonnie Mathews, Secretary-Treasurer (chosen by Commission)

Appointed by Secretary of Natural Resources: Robert Anger, 2019; Richard Bauman, 2020; Steven Thomas, 2020.

Appointed by Somerset County Board of County Commissioners: John French, 2020; Kevin Wooster, 2023.

Appointed by Mayor of Crisfield: David Mason, 2019; Ryan A. McClenahan, 2020.

Annual Report to Department of Natural Resources on Somers Come Marina revenues & expenses due Oct. 1 (Chapter 241, Acts of 2008).

Report (with Department of Natural Resources) to General Assembly on evaluation of Commission work due Nov. 1, 2013 (Chapter 241, Acts of 2008)

Somer Cove Marina was established at Crisfield in Somerset County, Maryland, in 1958. The Marina is on Somers Cove off of Daugherty Creek, a tributary of Tangier Sound. On the southern tip of Maryland's Eastern Shore, the Marina was deeded by the City of Crisfield to the Department of Natural Resources in 1980. The Marina is the largest State-owned marina in Maryland. In November 2008, the Somers Cove Marina Commission was established by the General Assembly to oversee its operation (Chapter 241, Acts of 2008).

To improve services to the boating public, the Commission, with the Executive Director, annually develops a master plan on how to operate, maintain, develop, and improve Somers Cove Marina. To implement the master plan, the Commission adopts an operating budget which may use the Somers Cove Marina Improvement Fund towards its objectives. Futher, the Commission sets policy, generally oversees marina operations, and assesses slip fees and other charges. To fund its capital budget, the Commission must apply for grants from the State's Waterway Improvement Fund, and may receive funds from the City of Crisfield, Somerset County, the State, and other sources.

The Commission's seven members serve four-year terms. Three are appointed by the Secretary of Natural Resources, two by the Somerset County Board of County Commissioners, and two by the Mayor of Crisfield. From its members, the Commission elects a chair and vice-chair. Also, the Commission appoints a secretary-treasurer, who may not be a Commission member. Appointed by the Secretary of Natural Resources, the Executive Director supervises the marina manager (Code Natural Resources Article, sec. 5-908.1).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives