To aid the counties and Baltimore City with certain public school construction projects and capital improvements, the Interagency Committee on School Construction was established by the Board of Public Works as authorized by the General Assembly in 1971 (Chapter 624, Acts of 1971).

[photo, State Department of Education Building, 200 Baltimore St., Baltimore, Maryland] Subject to Board of Public Work's approval, the Committee supervised and provided funding for public school construction in Maryland (Code Education Article, sec. 5-301). In June 2018, the Committee was replaced by the Interagency Commission on School Construction as authorized by the General Assembly (Chapter 14, Acts of 2018; Code Education Article, secs. 5-301 through 5-321).

The Interagency Commission on School Construction is an independent agency functioning within the State Department of Education. It develops and approves policies, procedures, guidelines, and regulations to ensure that school construction funds are allocated to local jurisdictions fairly, independently, and on the basis of merit.

State Department of Education Building, 200 Baltimore St., Baltimore, Maryland, July 2003. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

For administration of the State Public School Construction Program, the Interagency Commission on School Construction is required to adopt rules, regulations, and procedures. It also approves the Program allocations paid to each county and Baltimore City (Code Education Article, sec. 5-301).

The Commission prepares projections of school construction and capital improvement needs, approves projects based on these needs, and provides associated financial aid to the counties and Baltimore City for these projects. The Commission also administers the Aging Schools Program; the Federal School Renovation Program; Minority Business Enterprise; Qualified Zone Academy Bonds; the Recycled Tire Grant Program; Supplemental Appropriation; the Energy Efficiency Initiative; the Security Initiative; and the Air Conditioning Initiative. Further, the Commission is responsible for the Local Share of School Construction Costs Revolving Loan Fund and the School Safety Grant Program (Chapter 14, Acts of 2018).

Since May 2018, first the Committee oversaw and now the Commission administers the Healthy School Facility Fund (Chapter 561, Acts of 2018). Through grants, the Fund is used to meet schools needs, such as air conditioning, heating, indoor air quality, mold remediation, temperature regulation, plumbing, and windows.

The Commission consists of nine members: two are appointed by the Governor; the Senate President and House Speaker each appoint two public members, and three members serve ex officio. The Governor, Senate President, and House Speaker jointly choose the chair. The Executive Director is appointed by the Commission and works under the Commission's direction (Chapter 445, Acts of 2005; Chapter 14, Acts of 2018; Code Education Article, sec. 5-302).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives