[photo, Courtney Watson, Maryland State Delegate] M. COURTNEY WATSON
Democrat, District 9B, Howard County

Member of House of Delegates since January 9, 2019. Deputy Majority Whip, 2023-. Member, Appropriations Committee, 2023- (capital budget subcommittee, 2023-; oversight committee on pensions, 2023-; chair, transportation & the environment subcommittee, 2023-, vice-chair, 2023). Member, Economic Matters Committee, 2019-22 (banking, consumer protection & commercial law subcommittee, 2019-22; property & casualty insurance subcommittee, 2019-22; chair, workers' compensation subcommittee, 2022); Joint Audit and Evaluation Committee, 2023-. House Chair, Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds, 2023-. Member, Spending Affordability Committee, 2024-. Vice-Chair, Democratic Caucus, 2019-23. House Chair, Howard County Delegation, 2021-23. Member, Maryland Legislative Transit Caucus, 2019-; Women Legislators of Maryland, 2019-; Maryland Legislative Latino Caucus, 2024-.

Member, County Council, Howard County, representing District 1, December 2006 to December 1, 2014 (chair, 2007-08, 2009-10; vice-chair, 2006-07, Dec. 5, 2011 to Dec. 3, 2012, and Dec. 2, 2013 to Dec. 1, 2014).

Member, Board of Education, Howard County, 2002-06 (past chair). Chair, Board of License Commissioners, Howard County, 2009-10 (vice-chair, 2006-07). Chair, Zoning Board, Howard County, 2010-11, 2012-13 (vice-chair, 2008-09). Past member, Master Plan Steering Committee, and Economic Development Authority Strategic Plan Committee, Ellicott City; Adequate Public Facilities Ordinance Committee, and Spending and Bond Affordability Committee, Howard County.

Member, Board of Community College Trustees, Howard County, 2015-18.

President, Maryland Electoral College, 2016.

Born in Baltimore, Maryland. Attended Howard County public schools; Atholton High School, Columbia, Maryland; Howard Community College; Loyola College in Maryland, B.A. (business), 1984; M.B.A, 1986. Assistant Vice-President, Charter Corporation, 1984-91. Vice-President of Sales, Rossmann-Hurt-Hoffman, Inc., an insurance agency, 1992-2016. Sales Executive, HUB International Mid-Atlantic, 2016-. Member, Legislative Committee, Maryland Association of Counties, 2006- (education subcommittee, 2007-). President, Women of MACO, 2010-13. Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 2016, 2020. Past chair, Maryland Hospitality Education Foundation. Award, PTA Council of Howard County, 2001. Distinguished Alumni, Howard Community College, 2008. Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 2012, 2017. Community Service Award, Kappa Phi Lambda Chapter, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., 2012. Robert H. Kittleman Award, Howard County Association of Realtors, 2012. Ruby Award, Soroptimist International of Howard County, 2014. Inductee, Howard County Women's Hall of Fame, 2015. Unsung Heroes of Howard County Award, Howard County Youth Council, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), 2015. Journey Camp Awardee, Women's Giving Circle, 2016. Legislative All-Star, Maryland Retailers Association, 2019. Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 2020. Married; three children.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 20, 2024 Maryland State Archives