[photo, Cheryl C. Kagan, Maryland State Senator] CHERYL C. KAGAN
Democrat, District 17, Montgomery County

Member of Senate since January 14, 2015. Vice-Chair, Education, Energy and the Environment Committee, 2023-. Member, Joint Committee on Federal Relations, 2017-; Joint Audit and Evaluation Committee, 2019-. Member, Joint Audit Committee, 2015-19; Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space and Agricultural Land Preservation, 2016-24. Senate Chair, Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds, 2017-18; Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review, 2019 (member, 1995-2003). Vice-Chair, Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee, 2020-22 (member, 2015-22; education subcommittee, 2015-18; health subcommittee, 2015-18; environment subcommittee, 2019-22; chair, health subcommittee, 2020-22).

Member, One Maryland Blue Ribbon Commission, 2015-16; Commission on the Commemoration of the 100th Anniversary of the Passage of the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution, 2016-20; Maryland Public-Private Partnership Marketing Corporation, 2016-; Governor's Workforce Development Board, 2018-20. Chair, Commission to Advance Next Generation 9-1-1 Across Maryland, 2018-22. Member, Work Group on English Language Learners in Public Schools, 2021-; Maryland State Arts Council, 2023-; Council on Open Data, 2023-.

Member, Board of Advisors, U.S. Election Assistance Commission, 2023-.

Member of House of Delegates (Democrat), representing District 17, Montgomery County, January 11, 1995 to January 8, 2003. Member, Commerce and Government Matters Committee, 1995-98 (transportation & motor vehicles subcommittee, 1995-97; transportation subcommittee, 1998; vice-chair, motor vehicles subcommittee, 1998); Special Committee on Rail Mergers, 1997; Appropriations Committee, 1999-2003 (capital budget subcommittee, 2002-03; education & economic development subcommittee, 2002-03; health & human resources subcommittee, 2001; public safety & administration subcommittee, 1999-2000; oversight committee on pensions, 1999-2003; oversight committee on program open space & agricultural land preservation, 1999-2003); Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 2001-03. House Vice-Chair, Joint Audit Committee, 2002-03 (member, 2001). Vice-Chair, Transportation Committee, Montgomery County Delegation. Vice-Chair, House Democratic Research Group, 1998-2003. Member, Women Legislators of Maryland, 1995-2003.

Member, Maryland State Arts Council, 1995-2003; Study Group on Organizational, Commemorative and Personalized License Plate Programs, Department of Transportation, 1997-98. Board of Advisors, The Universities at Shady Grove, 2002-07. Member, Charter Review Commission, Montgomery County, 2003-06.

Member, Alternative Community Service Commission, City of Rockville.

Born in Washington, DC, July 2, 1961. Attended Montgomery County public schools; Winston Churchill High School, Potomac, Maryland; The American University (Washington semester program), 1981; Vassar College, A.B. (political science), 1983; graduate study, School of Public Affairs, University of Maryland College Park, 1991-95. Political and marketing consultant to candidates and nonprofit organizations, 1980-. Director of Development, National Women's Political Caucus, 1986-87. Executive Director, Independent Action, 1989-91. Chief of Staff to U. S. Representative John Cox of Illinois, 1991-92. Lobbyist, Handgun Control, Inc. (now Brady Center to Prevent Handgun Violence), 1991, 1993. Substitute teacher, Montgomery County Public Schools, 1995-99. Vice-President, Strategic Message Design Group, 1999-2000. Executive Director, Carl M. Freeman Foundation, 2003-07. Professor, Montgomery College, 2008-09. Executive Director, Education Fund, Americans for Democratic Action, 2010-12. Director of Community Engagement, Mid-Atlantic Hub, B'nai Brith Youth Organization, 2012-14. Outreach and Development Coordinator, Community Reach of Montgomery County (formerly Community Ministries of Rockville), 2016-. Democratic political commentator, Channel 9 (WUSA-TV). Committee Chair, Task Force on Party Operations, Maryland Democratic Party (member, committee studying ballot measures). Co-Chair, John Kerry for President campaign, Montgomery County. Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 2004. Steering committee, Hillary Clinton for President campaign, 2007-08. Directed advanced women candidates' training seminar for Women's Campaign Research Fund, and Center for Political Leadership and Participation. Founding Board member, Faith and Politics Institute, 1991-99. National Board, Americans for Democratic Action, 1981-. Special events coordinator for U.S. Representative Michael D. Barnes (Senate campaign), 1986. Steering Committee, Voices Versus Violence, 1994. Chair, Career Development Committee, Vassar Club of Washington, 1991-93. Chapter Board member, American Jewish Committee, 1999-. Co-founder and host, Folk 'N Great Music, 2003-. Member, Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County, 2003- (vice-president of board development); Peerless Rockville, 2005- (nominations committee); Jewish Federation of Greater Washington, 2006-08. Secretary, Montgomery County Democratic Trustees, 2009-. Board of Directors, National Association of Jewish Legislators, 2021-. Volunteer work on behalf of World Folk Music Association, Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Manna Food Pantry, and Multiple Sclerosis Society. Flemming Fellow, Center for Policy Alternatives, 1996. Leader of the Year, Greater Washington Board of Trade, 1998, 2001. Member, NG9-1-1 Interoperability Oversight Commission, National Emergency Number Association, 2022-. Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Municipal League, 1997, 1998. Darden Fellow, University of Virginia School of Business, 1999. Blaustein Fellow, American Jewish Committee, 2003. Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 2003, 2005, 2017 (Circle of Excellence). Comay Fellow, American Jewish Committee, 2004-05. Woman of Achievement, Montgomery County Business and Professional Women, 2006. Named a Municipal Super Star, Maryland Municipal League, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020. Phyllis Campbell Newsome Public Policy Award, Center for Nonprofit Advancement, 2017. National Leader Award, Next Generation 9-1-1 Institute, 2018. Senator William H. Amoss Memorial Legislative Award, Maryland State Firemenís Association, 2019. Legislator of the Year, Maryland League of Conservation Voters, 2019. Legislative Champion, Maryland Nonprofits, 2019. Friend of Municipal Government, Maryland Municipal League, 2019. Peacemaker of the Year, Conflict Resolution Center of Montgomery County, 2020. Hyman (Bookie) Bookbinder Award, American Jewish Committee, 2021. Government Leader of the Year, NG9-1-1 Institute, 2023. Member, Congregation Har Shalom, Potomac, Maryland.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright April 12, 2024 Maryland State Archives