Chair: Katie Olson Savage, Secretary of Information Technology

Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms: Ross Cutts; Brandee Ganz; Cheryl L. Knott; Ryan E. Middleton, Esq,; Steven A. Palmer. Terms expire 2025.

Jennifer D. Kinzer; Linda M. Loubert, Ph.D.; Travis W. Marion; Terri N. Reaves; Valerie S. Wampler. Terms expire 2026.

[photo, 100 Community Place, Crownsville, Maryland] Appointed by Senate President: Cheryl C. Kagan

Appointed by House Speaker: Bonnie L. Cullison

Ex officio: Maj. Gen. Janeen L. Birckhead, Adjutant General; Kevin M. Atticks, Secretary of Agriculture; Helene T. Grady, Secretary of Budget & Management; Kevin A. Anderson, Secretary of Commerce; Russell J. Strickland, Secretary of Emergency Management; Serena C. McIlwain, Secretary of the Environment; Atif T. Chaudhry, Secretary of General Services; Laura Herrera Scott, M.D., Secretary of Health; Jacob R. Day, Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Rafael J. Lopez, Secretary of Human Services; Portia Y. Wu, Esq., Secretary of Labor; Joshua E. Kurtz, Secretary of Natural Resources; Rebecca L. Flora, Secretary of Planning; Carolyn J. Scruggs, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Col. Roland L. Butler, Jr., Secretary of State Police; Paul J. Wiedefeld, Secretary of Transportation; Carey M. Wright, Ed.D., Interim State Superintendent of Schools; Dorothy J. Lennig, Esq., Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, & Victim Services; Adam R. Flasch, Director, Governor's Office of Homeland Security; Victoria L. Gruber, Esq., Executive Director, Dept. of Legislative Services; Elaine Rice Bachmann, State Archivist; Daniel K. Phillips, Interim Director of Assessments & Taxation; Theodore R. Delbridge, M.D., Executive Director, Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems.

100 Community Place, Crownsville, Maryland, July 2016. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Julia M. Fischer

c/o Office of Secretary, Department of Information Technology
100 Community Place, Crownsville, MD 21032
1-877-634-6361 (toll free)


In June 2014, the Council on Open Data was created by the General Assembly (Chapter 69, Acts of 2014; Chapter 8, Acts of 2019; Chapter 11, Acts of 2020; Chapters 287 & 288, Acts of 2021).

The Council promotes the State policy on open data: that open data be machine readable and released to the public in ways that make it easy to find, access, and use.

Open data is that data collected by a State agency that is either required, allowed, or possible to be made available to the public without violating any law; hindering government operations; endangering public health, safety, or welfare; imposing any undue burden on the releasing agency; or disclosing confidential or proprietary information.

Guidance and policy recommendations for promoting the State's open data policy is provided by the Council, which may recommend legislation and regulations as well. With staff from across State government, the Council works to develop, maintain, and use open data and open data portals. Further, the Council plans on making open data freely available to the public, while advising the Governor and General Assembly on budget matters relating to its costs.

The legislative and judicial branches of State government, as well as Maryland's local governments are encouraged by the Council to use open data portals created by State agencies, establish their own such portals, and adopt policies consistent with State open data policy.

The Council advocates for sound records management and data preservation practices. It also works to ensure that State purchases of data processing systems, devices, and software are compliant and interoperable with State open data policy and current technology.

Formerly at 45 Calvert Street, Annapolis, Maryland, the Council moved to 100 Community Place, Crownsville, Maryland, in July 2016.

The Council consists of 37 members. Of these, ten are appointed by the Governor, one is appointed by the Senate President, and one is appointed by the House Speaker. Twenty-five members serve ex officio. The Secretary of Information Technology chairs the Council, and the Director of the Governor's Office of Performance Improvement serves as Vice-Chair (Code State Government Article, secs. 10-1501 through 10-1504).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 05, 2024 Maryland State Archives