clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 599   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

Airport; and 3) BWI Airport within the Depart-
ment of Transportation but overseen by a Commis-
sion of private business leaders. The Committee
reported its recommendations to the Governor on
November 3, 1993.


Norman M. Glasgow, Sr., Esq., Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who named chair): W.
McNeill Baker; David M. Banwarth; Jerry N.
Barbierri; John Martin Best; Charles T. Brown, Sr.;
Robert Joseph Brown; Winifred W. Carpenter;
Albert M. Copp; James H. Dowell; Diane K.
Ebberts; Steven Thomas Edwards; Spurgeon
Eisemier; Caroline M. Ellis; John R. Frazier; Willie
A. Furr; David M. Hammerman; William E.
Higgins; Edward M. Hord; James I. Humphrey,
Jr.; Rudolph F. Janssen; Azer Kehnemui, D.Sc.,
P.E.; Jeanne Lynch; Paula L. Martino; Robert M.
Mitchell, Jr.; Peter C. Newlin; John F. O'Neill;
Paul Prodonovich; Michael B. Richardson; C. Gary
Rogers; Steven T. Sager; Armand M. Shank, Jr.

Designated by Senate President: Christopher J. McCabe
Designated by House Speaker: Howard P. Rawlings

Ex officio: Jacqueline H. Rogers, Secretary of
Housing & Community Development; Rocco J.
Gabriele, State Fire Marshal.

9012 Brickyard Road
Potomac, MD 20854 (301) 299-3250

The Governor formed the Task Force on Maryland
Building Performance Standards in May 1992 (Ex-
ecutive Order 01.01.1992.12). The Task Force
charge was to draft legislation establishing uniform
Maryland Building Performance Standards. The
Task Force submitted a report and the proposed
legislation to the Governor on January 21, 1993.


Chairperson: O. James Lighthizer, Secretary of

Contact: Frederick P. Rappe

P.O. Box 8755
c/o Office of Systems Planning & Evaluation
Dept. of Transportation
BWI Airport, MD 21240—0755
(410) 859-7346

For the Task Force on Chesapeake Bay Ferries, the
Department of Transportation prepared a special
report, Chesapeake Bay Ferry Boat Service: A Prelimi-
nary Feasibility Study
in July 1987. The Task Force
last met in March 1988.

In October and November, 1989, the Department
of Transportation conducted a survey for the Task
Force of Bay Bridge commuters relating to ferry

Executive Commissions /599


John A. Svahn, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who named chair): Merry L.
Coplin; John B. DeHoff, M.D.; Neal M.
Friedlander, M.D.; Donald Harting, M.D.,
M.P.H.; William L. Jews; Everard O. Rutledge;
Howard R. Sampson; Howard (Chip) Silverman;
John D. Stafford, M.D.; Adele Wilzack.

292 Oak Ct.
Severna Park, MD 21146 (410) 647-0762

The Governor appointed the Correctional Health
Care Task Force in February 1990. The charge of
the Task Force was to review the delivery of health
care services in the Division of Correction of the
Department of Public Safety and Correctional
Services. The Task Force also was to evaluate the
effectiveness of the current method of delivery.

The Task Force submitted its report to the Gover-
nor in October 1990.


Gary E. Bair, Esq., Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who named chair): Walter M.
Baker; Gary W. Christopher, Esq.; Joseph E.
Jenifer; Harry S. Johnson, Esq.; Anne F.
McCloskey; Stuart O. Simms, Esq.

Faculty Reporter: Edward A. Tomlinson,
University of Maryland School of Law

c/o Criminal Appeals Division
Office of Attorney General
200 St. Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202 (410) 576-6422

In December 1992, the Governor created the Gov-
ernor's Commission on the Death Penalty (Execu-
tive Order 01.01.1992.28). The Commission
charge was to review comprehensively: 1) the
State's death penalty and criminal appeals statutes,
the applicable Maryland Rules, and the postconvic-
tion process to determine if the process was fair and
expeditious; 2) guidelines used by State's Attorneys
in determining whether or not to seek the death
penalty in murder cases; 3) pattern jury instructions
given by judges to juries hearing evidence in capital
murder cases; and 4) the federal appellate process,
including review by the U.S. Supreme Court.

The Commission was to study whether certain pro-
cedures required by law might be eliminated to
reduce the cost and time of appeals. In addition, the
Commission was to seek ways for State and federal
courts to cooperate in reviewing death sentences.

The Report of the Governor's Commission on the Death
Penalty: An Analysis of Capital Punishment in Mary-
land, 1978 to 1993
, was submitted by the Commis-
sion to the Governor in November 1993.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 599   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives