clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 600   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

600 /Executive Commissions


David M. Roth, Ph.D., Chairperson

c/o Sheppard-Pratt Hospital
6501 North Charles St.
Towson, MD 21204 (410) 938-3000, ext. 4219

The Task Force reported to the Governor in Sep-
tember 1989 and held its last meeting in 1990.


J. Henry Butta, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who named chair): J. Glenn
Beall, Jr.; George L. Bunting, Jr.; David Falk; John
L. Green; Donald P. Hutchinson; Charles R.
Jenkins, Sr.; Edward T. Lewis, Ph.D.; Robert J.
Mulligan; Marion W. Pines; Henry A. Rosenberg,
Jr.; Walter Sondheim, Jr.

Staff: Joseph Adler

c/o Dept. of Personnel
301 West Preston St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 (410) 225-4717

The Governor's Commission on Efficiency and
Economy in State Government was created by the
Governor in September 1991 (Executive Order
01.01.1991.29). The Commission reviewed State
programs and operations to recommend the elimi-
nation or reduction of programs which the State
should no longer finance. Management practices in
State agencies also were examined by the Commis-
sion in order to recommend methods that stream-
line decision-making and improve operational
efficiency. In addition, the Commission analyzed
staffing patterns of State agencies and recom-
mended the elimination of any wasteful practices or
duplicate services.

The Commission submitted to the Governor a pre-
liminary report in December 1991, an interim re-
port in April 1992, and a final report in January
1993. The Governor endorsed the Commission's
suggestions. Recommendations requiring no statu-
tory change were adopted by administrative action.
In response to the Commission report, the General
Assembly enacted fourteen bills in 1992, and six
bills in 1993.


Roger C. Lipitz, Chairperson

Appointed by the Governor (who named chair): Jane
Avery Fiscus, M.D.; Pearl S. German, Sc.D.; William
J. Kinnard, Jr., Ph.D.; Alan C. Lovell; Richard E.
Paulman, Ed.D.; Bishop Monroe Saunders, Sr.; Sue
F. Ward; Laura B. Wilson, Ph.D.

Appointed by Senate President: Idamae Garrott
Appointed by House Speaker: Leonard H. Teitelbaum
Contact: Jane Wesseley

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

c/o Division of Aging Services
Medical Care Policy Admin.
Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene
201 West Preston St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 (410) 225-6764

In October 1990, the Task Force to Review and
Evaluate the Delivery System of Services to the
Elderly was created by the Governor. The Task
Force was to recommend an organizational struc-
ture that would enable the State to meet the needs
of elderly citizens. The Task Force considered the
roles, responsibilities, and relationships of State and
local agencies that serve the elderly; structures to
ensure effective planning, budgeting, and coordinating
of services at the State and local levels; and respon-
sibilities, structure, and organizational placement of
the Office on Aging within State government.

The Task Force reported to the Governor by letter
of January 31,1991.


Chairperson: James A. D'Orta, M.D.
Vice-Chairperson: Nelson J. Sabatini, Secretary of
Health & Mental Hygiene

Appointed by Governor (who named chair &
Willie C. Blair, M.D.; Benjamin L.
Brown; A. Samuel Cook, Esq.; J. P. Blase Cooke;
William J. Fleshman; Francis X. Kelly, Jr.; Kimball
I. Maull, M.D.; Carole Ann Mays, R.N.; Allen L.
Schwait, Esq.; J. Andrew Sumner, M.D.

Ex officio: Charles L. Benton, Jr., Secretary of
Budget & Fiscal Planning; Col. Larry W. Tolliver,
Superintendent, Maryland State Police.

Nonvoting adjunct members appointed by Governor:
Donald R. Howell; Lawrence A. LaMotte; Horace
W. Murphy; C. A. (Dutch) Ruppersberger III.

c/o Office of the Secretary
Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene
201 West Preston St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 (410) 225-6505

The Governor's Commission on Emergency Medi-
cal Services was formed in July 1992 by the Gover-
nor (Executive Order 01.01.1992.16). The
Commission's charge was to recommend a govern-
ing structure for Maryland's emergency medical
system and the best way to use and deliver emer-
gency medical services. In the assignment of pa-
tients to hospitals, the Commission defined the
roles of the chief executive officer of the University
of Maryland Medical Systems Hospital and the
director of the Maryland Institute of Emergency
Medical Services Systems.

The Commission submitted its report in December
1992. Based on Commission recommendations,
House Bill 1222 was enacted by the General As-
sembly in 1993 (Chapter 592, Acts of 1993).


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 600   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives