Maryland flag Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Governors of Maryland, 1634-1689


Governors under Proprietary and Parliamentary Government, 1634-1689

Leonard Calvert, 1634-1644/5, 1646-1647 Captain Richard Ingle, 1644/45-1646 Captain Edward Hill, 1646 Leonard Calvert, 1646-1647

Thomas Greene, 1647-1648/49

William Stone, 1649-1651/52

Richard Bennet and William Claiborne (Parliamentary Commissioners), 1652-1657/58

William Stone, 1652-1656

Commissioners appointed by Parliamentary Commissioners: William Fuller, William Durand, John Smith, John Lawson, Richard Wells, Richard Preston, Edward Lloyd, Leonard Strong, John Hatch, and Richard Ewen, 1654-1657 Josias Fendall, 1657-1660 Philip Calvert, 1661

Charles Calvert, 1661-1676, 1678/79-1684

Jesse Wharton, 1676 Thomas Notley, 1676-1679 Charles Calvert, Lord Proprietary, 1678/79-1684 Council of Deputy Governors, 1684-1688 William Joseph, 1688-1689

Return to Historical List

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright Maryland State Archives