Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Chancellors, 1634-1776

Source: Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List,
new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.

The Chancellor was the keeper of the official seal of the province, and as such the
office was generally held by the Governor, or by his designate.

See Donnell M. Owings, His Lordship's Patronage: Offices of Profit in Colonial Maryland, pps. 26-28 and 122-124.

Chancellors, 1634-1776

1634-1644/45   Leonard Calvert
1644/45-1646   Capt. Richard Ingle
1646   Capt. Edward Hill
1646-1647   Leonard Calvert
1647-1648   Thomas Greene
1648-1651/52   Capt. William Stone
1652-1654   Capt. William Stone
1656-1660   Josias Fendall
1660-1682   Philip Calvert
1682/83-1685   William Digges
1682/83-1689   Henry Darnall
1692- 1693   Nehemiah Blakiston
1693/94-1694   Col. Nicholas Greenberry
1694-1699   Sir Henry Jowles
1699-1702   Col. Nathaniel Blakiston
1702-1704   Thomas Tench
1704-1709   Col. John Seymour
1709-1714   Maj. Gen. Edward Lloyd
1715-1719/20   John Hart
1720   Charles Calvert
1720-1721   William Holland
1721-1725   Richard Tilghman
1725-1726/27   Charles Calvert
1726/27-1731   Benedict Leonard Calvert
1731-1732   Samuel Ogle
1732-1733   Charles Calvert
1733-1742   Samuel Ogle
1742-1746/47   Thomas Bladen
1746/47-1752   Samuel Ogle
1752-1753   Benjamin Tasker
1753-1768   Horatio Sharpe
1768-1776   Robert Eden

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright August 11, 2016 Maryland State Archives