[photo, Statue of Freedom atop U.S. Capital dome (from First St., SE), Washington, DC] Elected by General Assembly to 6-year terms (U.S. Constitution, Article I, sec. 3):
1789-1792 Charles Carroll of Carrollton
1789-1797 John Henry (resigned Dec. 10, 1797)
1793-1796 Richard Potts
1796-1803 John Eager Howard (Federalist)
1798-1800 James Lloyd (Federalist) (resigned Dec. 1, 1800)
1800-1801 William Hindman (Federalist)
1801-1806 Robert Wright (R)
1803-1815 Samuel Smith (R)
1806-1813 Philip Reed (R)
1813-1819 Robert H. Goldsborough (Federalist)
1816, Feb.-Dec. Robert Goodloe Harper (Federalist) (resigned Dec. 6, 1819)
1816-1819 Alexander Contee Hanson (Federalist) (died April 23, 1819)

Statue of Freedom atop U.S. Capital dome (from First St., SE), Washington, DC, December 2017. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

1819-1826 Edward Lloyd (R) (resigned Jan. 1826)
1819-1822 William Pinkney (R) (died Feb. 25, 1822)
1822-1833 Samuel Smith (R)
1826-1834 Ezekiel Forman Chambers (Whig) (resigned Dec. 20, 1834)
1833-1837 Joseph Kent (National Republican) (died Nov. 24, 1837)
1835-1836 Robert H. Goldsborough (Whig) (died Oct. 5, 1836)
1837-1840 John S. Spence (Whig) (died Oct. 24, 1840)
1838-1845 William D. Merrick (Whig)
1841-1843 John Leeds Kerr (Whig)
1843-1862 James Alfred Pearce (Whig) (died Dec. 20, 1862)
1845-1849 Reverdy Johnson (Whig) (resigned March 7, 1849)
1849-1850 David Stewart (Whig)
1850-1857 Thomas G. Pratt (Whig)
1857-1861 Anthony Kennedy (American)
1861-1863 Anthony Kennedy (Union Democrat)
1862-1865 Thomas Holliday Hicks (R) (died Feb. 14, 1865)
1863-1868 Reverdy Johnson (D) (resigned July 10, 1868)
1865-1867 John A. J. Creswell (R)
1868-1869 William Pinkney Whyte (D)
1868-1873 George Vickers (D)
1869-1875 William T. Hamilton (D)
1873-1879 George R. Dennis (D)
1875-1881 William Pinkney Whyte (D)
1879-1885 James Black Groome (D)
1881-1899 Arthur Pue Gorman (D)
1885-1891 Ephraim K. Wilson (D)
1891-1897 Charles H. Gibson (D)
1897-1903 George L. Wellington (R)
1899-1905 Louis E. McComas (R)
1903-1906 Arthur Pue Gorman (D) (died June 4, 1906)
1905-1912 Isidor Rayner (D) (died Nov. 25, 1912)
1906-1908 William Pinkney Whyte (D) (died March 17, 1908)
1907-1919 John Walter Smith (D)
1912-1914 William Purnell Jackson (R)

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (U.S. Constitution, 17th Amendment):
1914-1917 Blair Lee (D)
1915-1917 John Walter Smith (D)
1917-1923 Joseph I. France (R)
1923-1927 Ovington E. Weller (R)
1923-1929 William Cabell Bruce (D)
1927-1951 Millard E. Tydings (D)
1929-1935 Phillips Lee Goldsborough (R)
1935-1947 George L. Radcliffe (R)
1947-1953 Herbert R. O'Conor (D)
1953-1963 John Marshall Butler (R)
1953-1965 J. Glenn Beall (R)
1965-1969 Daniel B. Brewster (D)
1965-1971 Joseph D. Tydings (D)
1969-1987 Charles McC. Mathias, Jr. (R)
1971-1977 J. Glenn, Beall, Jr. (R)
1977-2007 Paul S. Sarbanes (D)
1987-2017 Barbara A. Mikulski (D)
2007- Benjamin L. Cardin (D)
2017- Christopher Van Hollen, Jr. (D)

Interstate Agencies
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives