Judge, August 18, 1994 to May 8, 2013.
Senior Judge, U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland, May 8, 2013 to January 3, 2014.
Retired January 3, 2014.

Member, Commission on Professionalism, 2010-12.

Chair, Appellate Courts Judicial Nominating Commission, 2015-. Co-Chair, Maryland Redistricting Reform Commission, 2015-. Chair, Work Group on Collateral Consequences of Convictions, 2016. Board of Directors, University of Maryland Medical System Corporation, 2016-.

Municipal attorney, Town of Fairmount Heights, 1975-87, and Town of Glenarden, 1980-87. Substitute Juvenile Master, Prince George's County Circuit Court, 1976-77. Staff attorney, Office of Public Defender, Prince George's County, 1977-78. Member, Human Relations Commission, Prince George's County, 1978-81. Hearing examiner and special counsel, Board of Education, Prince George's County, 1978-87. Member, Commission on Medical Discipline, 1980-85. Municipal attorney, Town of Glenarden, 1980-87. Member, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission, 1983-87 (vice-chair, 1983-85; chair, 1986-87); Court of Appeals Standing Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure, 1984-86.

State's Attorney, Prince George's County, 1987-94. Chair, Student Suspension Monitoring Committee, Prince George's County Public School System, 1987-89. Member, State's Attorneys Coordination Council, 1987-89; Handgun Roster Board, 1992-94.

Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Judge Alexander Williams, Jr., Center for Education, Justice and Ethics, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences, University of Maryland, College Park, 2013-.

Born in Washington, DC, May 8, 1948. Attended Theodore Roosevelt High School, Washington, DC; Howard University, B.A. (government), 1970; Howard University School of Law, J.D., cum laude, 1973. Howard University School of Divinity, M.A.R.S.-Ethics, 1991; Temple University, M.A. (religion & ethics), 1995. Law clerk to Judge James H. Taylor, Prince George's County Circuit Court, 1973-74. Admitted to Maryland Bar, 1973; District of Columbia Bar, 1974. Private law practice, Beltsville and Hyattsville, 1974-86. Professor of Law, Howard University School of Law, 1978-86 (adjunct faculty, 1987-2006). Mediator, The McCammon Group, 2014-. Member, Silverman, Thompson, Slutkin & White, LLC, 2015-. Founder, first president, and member, J. Franklyn Bourne Bar Association. Member, National Bar Association; Prince George's County Bar Association. Board of Directors, Greater Laurel-Beltsville Hospital, 1985-87. Vice-President, Maryland State's Attorney's Association, 1989-94. President, Southern Maryland Division, American Heart Association, 1990-91. Founding member, Howard Law School 500 Club (endowment fund), 1991. Member, African Judicial Network. Leader of Leaders Award, Prince George's County Public High School Principals, 1991. Honorary doctorate, Southeastern University, 1995. Distinguished Service and Legal Excellence Award, J. Franklyn Bourne Bar Association, 2000. Distinguished Service Award, Board of Trustees, Howard University, 2008. James H. Taylor Award, Prince George's County, 2013.

Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 08, 2018 Maryland State Archives