John T. Sisson, Delaware, Chair (chosen by Council in May, 1-year term), 2024

Heather R. Murphy, designee of Governor; Danielle M. Hornberger, County Executive, Cecil County; Richard Mahan, Cecil County municipal representative.

David L. Edgell, designee of Governor; Nicole Majeski, Secretary of Transportation; John T. Sisson, Chief Executive Officer, Delaware Transit Corp.; Matthew Meyer, County Executive, New Castle County; Michael S. Purzycki, Mayor of Wilmington; Eric Scott Thompson, Newcastle County municipal representative.

Tigist Zegeye, Executive Director

100 Discovery Blvd., Suite 800, Newark, DE 19713
(302) 737-6205, ext. 114; 1-888-808-7088 (toll free from Cecil County); fax: (302) 286-7131

The Wilmington Area Planning Council is the designated metropolitan planning organization for the region that includes Cecil County, Maryland, and New Castle County, Delaware.

A Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is a federally mandated and federally funded transportation policy-making organization that is made up of representatives from local government and governmental transportation authorities. Federal law requires the formation of such an organization for any urbanized area with a population of more than 50,000. Federal funding for transportation projects and programs is channeled through this planning process. Congress created these organizations in order to ensure that expenditures of governmental funds for transportation are based on a continuing, cooperative and comprehensive planning process. For each of their respective regions, MPOs are charged with developing a 20-year Long-Range Transportation Plan and a short-term (usually 2 to 6 years) program called the Transportation Improvement Program.

In 1969, the Council originated as a regional planning agency. Since 1993, it coordinates only transportation plans of local county and municipal governments within the region.

In December 2018, the Council moved from 850 Library Ave., Newark, Delaware to its present address at 100 Discovery Blvd., Newark, Delaware.

The Council is assisted by the Public Advisory Committee, the Technical Advisory Committee, and three subcommittees: Air Quality, Congestion Management System, and Demographics and Data. Also, helping the Council are three working groups: Freight and Goods Movement, Environmental Justice, and Nonmotorized Transportation.

Interstate Agencies (Maryland memberships)
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 08, 2024 Maryland State Archives