Michael T. Richard, Maryland, Chair (chosen by Commission)

Appointed by Governor of Maryland: Michael T. Richard, 2025

Appointed by Governor of Virginia: one vacancy

Appointed by Mayor, District of Columbia: Everett Lott

Jeffrey M. Lehmann, Esq., Executive Director & General Counsel

1010 Wayne Ave., Suite 1240, Silver Spring, MD 20910 - 5624
(301) 588-5260; fax: (301) 588-5262

Annual Report to Governors of Maryland & Virginia, & Mayor of District of Columbia due Jan. 1.

The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Commission was established in 1961 to regulate the commercial transportation of passengers in the Washington, DC, Metropolitan District, now the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit District. The Commission was created by the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Regulation Compact, an agreement among Maryland, the District of Columbia, and Virginia. Maryland ratified the Compact in 1959 (Chapter 613, Acts of 1959). Amended by Maryland in its entirety in 1988, the revised compact became effective in February 1991 after ratification by Virginia and the District of Columbia (Chapter 273, Acts of 1988).

Fares, regulations, and practices of transportation companies and interstate taxicabs in the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit District are set by the Commission. Created by the Compact, the District embraces the District of Columbia; Montgomery and Prince George's counties, Maryland; the cities of Alexandria and Falls Church, Virginia; and Arlington and Fairfax counties, Virginia. Also, for the purpose of setting interstate taxicab rates, the District includes that portion of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, which holds BWI Thurgood Marshall Airport.

In Fiscal Year 2019, the Commission moved from 8701 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, to its present site at 1010 Wayne Avenue, Silver Spring.

Commission expenses are allocated annually in proportion to the population of each signatory in the Metropolitan District. In Fiscal Year 2023, Marylandís share is 47.13%, or $482,571 (Code Transportation Article, sec. 10-203).

Three members constitute the Commission. One is named by the Governor of Maryland from the Maryland Public Service Commission. As of a 2010 amendment change, the Governor of Virginia appoints one from the Department of Motor Vehicles, and one is chosen by the Mayor of the District of Columbia from an agency with oversight of matters relating to the Commission. Each member's term coincides with the term of office in the agency from which the member is selected.

Interstate Agencies (Maryland memberships)
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright March 02, 2023 Maryland State Archives