Jack Evans, Chair (chosen by Board in Jan., 1-year term), 2018
Vacancy, 1st Vice-Chair (chosen by Board in Jan.)
James Corcoran, 2nd Vice-Chair (chosen by Board in Jan.), 2018

Appointed by Washington Suburban Transit Commission: Michael F. Goldman, Esq., 2021; one vacancy. Alternates: Kathryn H. Porter, 2017; Malcolm L. Augustine, 2019.

Appointed by Northern Virginia Transportation Commission in Jan.: James Corcoran, 2018; Catherine M. Hudgins, 2021. Alternates: Christian Dorsey, 2019; Paul C. Smedberg, 2020.

Appointed by District of Columbia City Council: Jack Evans; Corbett A. Price. Alternates: Thomas J. Bulger; Jeff Marootian.

Appointed by U.S. Secretary of Transportation: David B. Horner, Esq., 2019; Steve McMillin, 2020. Alternates: Anthony E. Costa , 2018; Robert C. Lauby, 2018.

Paul J. Wiedefeld, General Manager & Chief Executive Officer

600 Fifth St., NW, Washington, DC 20001
(202) 962-1234; tty: (202) 638-3780
(202) 637-7000 (Metro bus & rail information)
(202) 637-1328 (customer assistance)

Report (with Maryland Dept. of Transportation) to Maryland General Assembly budget committees on budget deficit due 30 days after FY2011 budget is finalized (Joint Chairmen's Report, 2010, p. 49).

Report (with Maryland Dept. of Disabilities & Dept. of Transportation) to Maryland General Assembly budget committees on plan for inclusion of Authority's measures in Department of Disabilities Managing for Results submission, Sept. 1, 2010 (Joint Chairmen's Report, 2010, p. 10).

Report (with Dept. of Transportation & Maryland Transit Administration) to Senate President, House Speaker, Senate Education, Health & Environmental Affairs Committee, & House Environmental Matters Committee on program to place recycling bins at transit stations due Dec. 1, 2011 (Chapter 134, Acts of 2011).

The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority was created by interstate compact of the State of Maryland, the Commonwealth of Virginia, and the District of Columbia with the consent of Congress. Maryland ratified the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Regulation Compact in 1965 (Chapter 869, Acts of 1965; Code Transportation Article, sec. 10-204). The Authority was formed to plan, finance, develop, and operate a balanced regional transportation system for the national capital area. The Authority also maintains a regular police force to protect patrons, personnel, and property.

The Tri-State Oversight Committee is the safety oversight agency for the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority. In October 2015, however, the Federal Transit Administration also began to oversee the Metro subway, making Metro the first U.S. subway system to be overseen directly for safety by a federal agency. Following the federal certification process, the Washington Metrorail Safety Commission will become the safety oversight agency.

The Authority is governed by an eight-member Board of Directors (& eight alternate directors). Each Compact signatory appoints two members and two alternates. The U.S. Secretary of Transportation also appoints two members. Formerly, these were chosen by the Administrator of the federal General Services Administration (Public Law 111-62). Board members and alternates serve terms coterminous with their service as members of their appointing bodies (Code Transportation Article, secs. 10-202 through 10-204).

Assisting the Authority are several committees, including the Accessibility Advisory Committee, and the Riders' Advisory Council.

Interstate Agencies (Maryland memberships)
Maryland Government
Maryl& the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 17, 2018 Maryland State Archives