Patrick McDonnell, Chair (chosen by Commission in June, 1-year term), 2020

Appointed by U.S. President: Maj. Gen. Jeffrey L. Milhorn (Col. John T. Litz, Amy M. Guise, alternates).

Ex officio: Ben H. Grumbles, designee of Governor of Maryland (Saeid Kasraei & Suzanne Dorsey, alternates); Basil Seggos, designee of Governor of New York (James M. Tierney & Paul D'Amato, alternates); Patrick McDonnell, designee of Governor of Pennsylvania (Aneca Atkinson, alternate).

[photo, Boat house on Susquehanna River, Havre de Grace, Maryland] Andrew D. Dehoff, Executive Director

4423 North Front St., Harrisburg, PA 17110 - 1788
(717) 238-0423; 1-800-311-2582 (toll free); fax: (717) 238-2436

  • State of the Susquehanna, 2013

  • Boat house on Susquehanna River, Havre de Grace, Maryland, April 2005. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    [photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] Contact: Saeid Kasraei

    c/o Office of Secretary, Department of the Environment
    Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
    (410) 537-3567

    Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    The Susquehanna River Basin Commission was created upon enactment of the Susquehanna River Basin Compact by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, the states of New York and Maryland, and Congress. Maryland ratified the Compact in 1967 (Chapter 391, Acts of 1967). The Commission superseded the Interstate Advisory Committee on the Susquehanna River Basin.

    For water resources development, conservation, and management of the Basin, the Commission formulates plans, policies, and projects. From its source at Otsego Lake near Cooperstown, New York, the Susquehanna River flows 444 miles to Havre de Grace, Maryland, where the river meets the Chesapeake Bay. Half of the Bay's freshwater flow comes from the Susquehanna River.

    The Commission consists of four members. These include the governor or designee from each signatory state and one member appointed by the President of the United States (Code Environment Article, sec. 5-301).

    Interstate Agencies (Maryland memberships)
    Maryland Government
    Maryland & the Federal Government
    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

    This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright May 13, 2020 Maryland State Archives