Matthew E. Creamer, Chair (chosen by Council in May, 1-year term), 2024

Representing Maryland Dept. of Transportation: Tyson S. Byrne
Representing Wicomico County (appointed by County Executive & County Council): Matthew E. Creamer; Joshua A. Hastings; Thomas G. (Bunky) Luffman, Jr.
Representing City of Salisbury: John R. (Jack) Heath; Andrew P. Kitzrow.
Representing City of Fruitland: Marcus R. (Marc) Henderson
Representing Delmar, Maryland: Jeffrey Fleetwood
Representing Tri-County Council for the Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland: Gregory E. Padgham

Representing Delaware Dept. of Transportation: Pamela Steinebach
Representing Sussex County: Michael H. Vincent
Representing City of Seaford: Charles Anderson

Keith D. Hall, Executive Director

125 North Division St., Room 203, Salisbury MD 21801
(410) 548-4860; fax: (410) 548-4955

A Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is a federally mandated and federally funded transportation planning and policy-making organization that is made up of representatives from local government and governmental transportation authorities. Federal law requires the formation of such an organization for any urbanized area with a population of more than 50,000. Federal funding for transportation projects and programs is channeled through this planning process. Congress created these organizations in order to ensure that expenditures of governmental funds for transportation are based on a continuing, cooperative and comprehensive planning process.

For each of their respective regions, organization councils are charged with developing a 20-year Long-Range Transportation Plan; a short-term (usually 2 to 6 years) program called the Transportation Improvement Program; and a Unified Planning Work Program (annual budget).

Following the 2000 Census, the U.S. Census Bureau classified the Salisbury region as an Urbanized Area (UA). Thereafter, in February 2004, the Governor of Maryland designated the Salisbury-Wicomico Metropolitan Planning Organization as the agency responsible for conducting transportation planning activities for the region.

Originally, the Urbanized Area encompassed: Salisbury, Fruitland, and Delmar in Maryland; a portion of the surrounding unincorporated areas of Wicomico County; a portion of Delmar, Delaware; and a portion of the surrounding areas of Sussex County, Delaware. With the 2010 Census the Urbanized Area expanded to include Salisbury, Fruitland, Delmar, Hebron, and unincorporated portions of Wicomico and Somerset counties in Maryland, as well as Delmar, Laurel, Blades, Seaford, and a portion of unincorporated Sussex County in Delaware.

The governing body of the Salisbury-Wicomico Metropolitan Planning Organization is the Council, which began meeting in November 2004. The Council's twelve voting members include nine from Maryland and three from Delaware.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 13, 2023 Maryland State Archives