[photo, Fishermen on Potomac River near Point of Rocks Bridge, Point of Rocks, Maryland] Robert A. Boarman, Maryland, Chair (chosen by Commission in Feb., 1-year term), 2022

Maryland members appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent to 4-year terms: Robert A. Boarman, 2019; Phil L. Langley, 2021; William L. Rice, Sr., 2025.

Ex officio: Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio, Secretary of Natural Resources

Fishermen on Potomac River near Point of Rocks Bridge, Point of Rocks, Maryland, October 2003. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Martin L. Gary, Executive Secretary

P. O. Box 9
222 Taylor St., Colonial Beach, VA 22443 - 0009
(804) 456-6935; 1-800-266-3904 (toll free); fax: (804) 224-2712

The Potomac River Fisheries Commission is a bi-state commission of Maryland and Virginia, authorized by the U.S. Congress under the Potomac River Compact of 1958. Maryland ratified the Compact in 1959 (Chapter 269, Acts of 1959).

From the Maryland-District of Columbia boundary line (near Woodrow Wilson Bridge) to the mouth of the River at Point Lookout, Maryland, and Smith Point, Virginia, the Commission regulates and licenses the fisheries of the main stem of the tidal Potomac River.

Commission work seeks to conserve and improve fishery resources of the tidewater portion of the Potomac River. Indeed, the Commission is responsible for reseeding and replanting oysters bars in the Potomac. In addition, the Commission regulates the dredging of soft-shell clams in the Potomac River. From the sale of clam, crab, oyster and fishing licenses, and an oyster inspection tax, the Commission receives proceeds. Annually, each state also appropriates approximately $175,000 to Commission work.

While the Commission is a semi-autonomous agency, its work and policies are coordinated closely with Fishing and Boating Services of the Maryland Department of Natural Resources, and the Marine Resources Commission of Virginia. Fishery agencies of both states provide law enforcement on the Potomac River for the Commission.

Eight members constitute the Commission. Four are from Maryland, and four from Virginia. Maryland members include the Secretary of Natural Resources and three persons named to four-year terms by the Governor (Code Natural Resources Article, sec. 4-306).

The Commission has three advisory committees whose members are private citizens involved in commercial or recreational fishing. Appointed to four-year terms by the Commission, they recommend to the Commission modifications of regulations, licensing, or other issues.

Interstate Agencies (Maryland memberships)
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives