Melanie Loyzim, Maine, Chair (chosen by Commission in June, 1-year term), 2024

Paul J. Miller, Executive Director

89 South St., Suite 602, Boston, MA 02111
(617) 259-2005

[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] Maryland members appointed by Governor: one vacancy; George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr., Director, Air & Radiation Management Administration, Dept. of the Environment.

Staff: George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr.

c/o Air & Radiation Management Administration, Department of the Environment
Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
(410) 537-3255

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

In 1991, the Ozone Transport Commission was created in accordance with the federal Clean Air Act amendments of 1990 (P.L. 101-549). It was initiated to address the spread of ozone and its precursor gases in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic regions. First known as the Northeast Ozone Transport Commission, it became the Ozone Transport Commission under by-laws adopted in 1991.

The Commission advises the Environmental Protection Agency on issues surrounding the movement over long distances of airborne pollutants caused by cars, trucks, powerplants, and factories. With the Agency, the Commission works to develop and implement regional solutions to the ground-level ozone problems affecting citizens in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic regions. For its member states, the Commission provides air pollution assessment and technical support, and facilitates cooperation among states to develop regional pollution reduction strategies. The Commission also helps coordinate reductions in air pollution to meet federal health-based standards for air quality (contained in the National Ambient Air Quality Standard for ground-level ozone).

Government leaders and environmental officials from twelve Northeast and Mid-Atlantic states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency constitute the Commission. Member states include Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Virginia.

Interstate Agencies (Maryland memberships)
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 12, 2023 Maryland State Archives