Vacancy, Virginia, Chair (chosen by U.S. President in Jan., 6-year term)

Appointed by U.S. President to 6-year terms: Thomas M. Gallas, Maryland, 2021; Elizabeth Ann (Beth) White, At Large, 2022.

Appointed by Mayor, District of Columbia, to 4-year terms: Arrington Dixon, J.D., 2019; Linda Argo, 2023.

Ex officio: Mark T. Esper, U.S. Secretary of Defense; David Bernhardt, U.S. Secretary of the Interior; Emily W. Murphy, Administrator of General Services; Ron Johnson, Chair, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, U.S. Senate; Carolyn B. Maloney, Chair, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, U.S. House of Representatives; Muriel E. Bowser, Mayor, District of Columbia; Phillip H. Mendelson, Chair, Council of District of Columbia.

Marcel C. Acosta, Executive Director

Market Square North Building, Suite 500N
401 9th St. NW, Washington, DC 20004
(202) 482-7200; fax: (202) 482-7272

In 1924, the National Capital Planning Commission originated as the National Capital Park Commission. In 1926, it reformed as the National Capital Park and Planning Commission, and in 1952 assumed its present name.

The Commission serves as the central planning agency for the federal government in the National Capital Region. With regard to federal land and buildings, the Commission provides planning guidance. The Region includes Prince George's County and Montgomery County in Maryland; Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun and Prince William counties in Virginia; and the District of Columbia.

To protect and enhance the historical, cultural and national resources of the nation's capital, the Commission sets planning policies and reviews development proposals.

Defunct Units

Interstate Agencies (Maryland memberships)
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 12, 2020 Maryland State Archives